Past Recipients


ATOY Award WinnersThe Arts Teacher of the Year Award was created by the Broward County Cultural Division and Council in 1985 to recognize and honor a significant arts teacher in the Broward County Public Schools. Teachers whose primary assignment is in an arts discipline including dance, drama, music, visual arts and media arts are eligible.  Each year, one outstanding arts educator is honored at a gala awards ceremony and performance at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts. 


Previous Award Winners




Year Won Teacher's Name School Name of Teacher
2012 Nina Zakrzewski’s Nova High School


Julia Perlowski

Pompano Beach High School

2010 Neil Jenkins JP Taravella High School
2009 Susan Anderson JP Taravella High School
2008 Nicole Greggs Plantation Park Elementary
2007 Dr. David Lazerson The Quest Center
2006 Gretchen Weihe Fasulo Sawgrass Elementary School
2005 Lori Sessions JP Taravella High School
2004 Jeanne Halberg Sawgrass Springs Middle School
2003 Mary Cavaioli Norcrest Elementary School
2002 John Owen Davis II Flanagan High School
2001 Denyse Brooks Savetz Parkway Middle School
2000 Ann Ayers Coral Springs High School
1999  Ellen McMillan Parkway Middle School
1998 Phylis Burke Norcrest Elementary School
1997 Daniel Lieberman Coral Springs Middle School
1996 Sara Marc Colbert Elementary School
1995 Fay Kokkeler Seminole Middle School
1994 John Southall Western High School
1993 Janet Siegel Rogers Dillard High School
1992 Sandra M. Melillo Northeast High School
1991 Roger Dow Smith Deerfield Beach High School
1990 Donna M. Casanas Miramar High School
1989 Suzanne Bebon Atlantic West Elementary School
1988 Sharon Brooks

Bayview Elementary School

1987 Michele A. Edwards

Coral Springs High School

1986 Maxine McCall

Plantation & Mirror Lake Elementary Schools

Principal Recognition Awards 
2003 Dr. Susan L. Whiting

Tradewinds Elementary School

2002 Aimee Zekofsky

Apollo Middle School


Douglas J. Iscovitz

Indian Ridge Middle School

2000 Sharon H. Shaulis

Charles W. Flanagan High School

1999 Sherry A. Rose

Eagle Point Elementary School