How often do you find yourself driving behind a smoking vehicle? You roll the windows up, close the vents, and can still smell the fumes! In an effort to alleviate this problem, Broward County created the Smoking Vehicle Program, a voluntary program for reporting smoking vehicles. The main goal of the program is to educate the general public about the effects of smoking vehicles and how we can all help resolve this problem.
To report a Smoking Vehicle:
Help us keep our air clean by identifying and reporting smoking vehicles. To report a smoking vehicle:
- Call the Environmental Complaint Hotline at 954-519-1499
Submissions can be anonymous. We don’t need your name or personal information, we just the information listed below:
• the smoking vehicle’s Florida tag number
• the make, model and color of the vehicle
• the date and time the vehicle was seen
• location and city where you saw the vehicle
(i.e. I-95 Northbound at Oakland Park Blvd., Fort Lauderdale)
Interesting facts about motor vehicles:
- Motor vehicles account for more than 50% of the air pollution in Broward County
- There are about 1.8 million registered motor vehicles in Broward County which equals more than 1 vehicle per resident
- The average car generates over 600 pounds of air pollution per year
- 10% of the vehicles cause about 50% of the total air pollution generated by motor vehicles
Smoking vehicles are bad for you:
- Vehicle exhaust is made up of tiny particles that can get lodged in your lungs.
- These tiny particles are a contributor to respiratory diseases (i.e.-asthma and emphysema)
- Smoking vehicles can also emit pollutants that are suspected to cause cancer in humans.
Smoking vehicles are illegal:
- Any car, bus or truck that generates smoke continuously from the exhaust pipe(s) for more than five seconds is in violation of the Broward County Code, Chapter 27, (Section 27-175(j)(1).
Smoking vehicles cost you money!
- County Fines- the owner of a smoking vehicle can be cited by a Natural Resource Enforcement Officer from the EPGMD, and if the problem is not corrected within 30 days, fines of up to $200 may apply.
- State Fines- any law enforcement officer of the State of Florida can issue a traffic infraction to a smoking vehicle.
- Out of Pocket- a smoking vehicle will use more oil and gasoline. The longer it goes without being repaired, the more damage may be done to the engine. That means higher repair costs for you in the long run.
What can you do if your vehicle is smoking?
- Take the vehicle to a certified mechanic that is trained in emissions controls.
- Take the bus - Call Broward County Transit (BCT) at 954-357-8400.
- Share a ride with someone to school, work and/or social events.
- Call 1-800-234-RIDE to start a car pool.
- Take Tri-Rail - Call 1-800-TRI-RAIL.
- Bicycle, walk or skate whenever you can.