Broward County, Florida
Skip navigation links
About Us
Arts Education
Public Art
Inside Out
Skip navigation links
Grant Panelist Login Information
Broward Cultural Council Handbook History
Broward Cultural Council 2016 Handbook
Anthony Abbate

Anthony Abbate



Member of: 
Broward Cultural Council
Broward Cultural Council Executive Committee, Past Chair
Public Art & Design Committee, Chair
Cultural Tourism Call to Action
Public Art & Design Chair's Designee



Anthony Abbate, AIA, LEED AP, was born in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. He graduated from St. Thomas Aquinas High School and received a Bachelor of Science in Architecture from the Catholic University of America and a Master of Architecture from Washington University in St. Louis. Abbate is Associate Graduate Professor of Architecture and Director of the Broward Community Design Collaborative at Florida Atlantic University. He is a Registered Architect in Florida, Maryland, and New York, with a private practice in Fort Lauderdale. He has received over 20 AIA Awards for Design Excellence since he began practice in 1990. His localized place-based designs for commercial, residential, institutional and civic projects in Florida, Maryland, the Bahamas, and Colombia have earned him international recognition. His public work includes the Broward County County-wide Community Design Guidebook, the Portals to the Sea at Lauderdale By The Sea, the Victoria Park Neighborhood Entryways, and an infrastructure master plan for the Flagler Village Neighborhood in Fort Lauderdale.

Abbate has lectured in Australia, Mexico, Colombia, and the US, about cross-disciplinary collaborative design for sustainability at the scale of buildings, cities and regions. He received the prestigious Arango Design Award in 2000 and chaired International Design and Architecture Day for Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach counties in 2001. He received Washington University's Distinguished Alumni Award 1995 for his service to the profession and the community, and the Florida Association of the American Institute of Architects President's Award for Distinguished Service to the profession in the aftermath of hurricane Andrew. He served as Vice-Chairman for State of Florida Department of Education Building Construction Advisory Committee, Chair of Broward County Cultural Council, President of the Arango Design Foundation, President of the Fort Lauderdale Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and as a member of the Board of Adjustment for the City of Fort Lauderdale. He is currently chair of the Broward County Public Art and Design Committee, Chair of the City of Fort Lauderdale’s Sustainability Committee, Co-Chair of the Sustainable Cities 2011 international conference, member of DOCOMOMO-US Florida, and member of the Fort Lauderdale Downtown Rotary Club.