South Florida Cultural Consortium (SFCC)

What is the timing of the award and exhibition?

Applications open September 15, 2018.

Application deadline October 29, 2018, 11.59PM
Regional and national judging will take place in January 2019.
Recipients will be announced in spring.
Awards and grant funds will be presented in summer/fall 2019.
Exhibition may take place in the summer of 2019.

This schedule is subject to change.


The South Florida Cultural Consortium Fellowship Program offers the largest regional, government-sponsored artists' grants in the United States.

The SFFC awards $15,000 and $7,500 fellowships to resident visual and media artists from the counties of Broward, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, and Palm Beach. Since it was established in 1988, the Consortium has awarded close to $2 million in fellowships to over 200 artists. In addition to receiving the grant, the artists take part in an exhibition hosted and organized by a visual arts institution in one of the five counties.

Each year, more than 300 artists who live and work throughout the five counties submit their applications for consideration to the South Florida Cultural Consortium’s Grant Program for Visual and Media Artists. The Consortium is a partnership of the local arts agencies of these five counties. Through these agencies, applications are made available to artists in the region. Submissions are grouped by County.

Applications available from September 15, 2018. Click Here To Access

The 2019 Application process opens in September 2018

A regional panel of visual and media art experts from South Florida is convened to provide an initial review of the submissions. The regional panel forwards its recommendations to the national panel. This national panel – with expertise in visual art, film, and media and chosen from a variety of academic and major visual arts institutions from around the country – is given the responsibility of recommending the final recipients.

During a day-long deliberation, the submissions are viewed by the national panel in a series of rounds. The panelists then reduce the selection to the final group of awardees. The funding available from each county determines the number of awards presented from each county.

The dynamics of the panel shape the selections from year to year. Merit is determined based on individual accomplishments as evidenced by the work submitted for review, with the highest premium placed on coherent bodies of work.

The national panel’s recommendations are reviewed and ratified by the South Florida Cultural Consortium. All panelists are required to follow the conflict of interest policy established by the Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs.

17/18 SFCC Fellowship Recipients, Broward County

AdrienneRose Gionta, Jenny Larsson, Vincent Miranda and Marla Rosen

From left: Jenny Larsson, AdrienneRose Gionta and Marla Rosen

2016 SFCC Fellowship Recipients, Broward County


Anthony Anaya 

Madeline Denaro 

 Sri Prabha

Anthony Anaya


Madeline Denaro


Sri Prabha


Consortium Members

The South Florida Cultural Consortium, formed in 1985, operates under an inter-local government agreement to coordinate projects and share resources for the growth of South Florida cultural activities, organizations and artists.  It provides regional cultural planning, new project development, statewide cultural marketing, information sharing, regional arts education training and support for ethnic and rural audience development.  
   Arts Council of Stuart & Martin County Florida Keys Council of the Arts  Palm Beach Cultural Council


Broward, 954-357-7457, Earl Bosworth,

Miami-Dade, 305-375-4634, Michael Spring,

Martin, 561-287-6676, Nancy Turrell,

Palm Beach, 561-471-2901, Rena Minar Blades,

Monroe, 305-294-4406, Elizabeth Young,

FCC 2018 Schedule