|Built in 1928-1929, Registered August 1990|
2980 NE 31 Ave
, FL 33064
Web Address: http://www.capsplace.com
Cap's Place is a collection of wood frame structures retaining their historic usage as a restaurant, bar and supporting outbuildings. The first restaurant building was constructed on a beached dredging barge in 1928, and enlarged in 1929 to its present L-shaped configuration. Other structures include the bar, fish house, and dock/walkways. The original boat house was rebuilt in 1985 following a hurricane. The north facade contains the original double-door main entrance. Since gambling stopped in 1954, the gaming tables were removed from the casino, along with slot machines that filled the six nooks that line one of the hallways. A unique historical resource, it withstood the pioneer days, the Roaring Twenties, Prohibition, the Depression and World War II.
Eugene Theodore Knight, also known as “Cap,” built this wonderful example of 1920s frame vernacular architecture on a spit of land between the Intracoastal Waterway and Lake Placid near the Hillsboro Inlet. It consists of a collection of five one-story wood frame structures which retain their historic usage as a restaurant and bar. The first restaurant building was constructed on a beached dredging barge purchased in Miami for $100.00 in 1928 and was enlarged in 1929.
The main building walls are made from old growth Dade County pine and pecky cypress. The roofs are covered with tar paper and asphalt shingles. Open rafters grace the ceilings and all the light bulbs on the property are bare, with no fixtures, a Cap’s Place tradition. The bar structure is a rectangular building. On the north side of the interior is a large bar constructed of bamboo from the Everglades. The top of the bar was fashioned from decking from an old ship. Other structures include Cap’s original home, dock and walkways.
By the 1930s the restaurant and bar were frequented by gamblers. The casino and slot machines were removed in 1954, after a federal investigation into gambling in Broward County. Cap died in 1964 and his business associate, Al Hasis, and his family took over operation of this one-of-a-kind restaurant. Originally called Club Unique, Cap’s Place can be reached by a short, free boat ride on the Intracoastal Waterway. Cap’s Place is the oldest structure in Lighthouse Point and is like a time capsule amidst the expensive waterfront dwellings surrounding it