Climate Change Task Force Meeting Thursday, May 16, 2019 12:30 PM – 3:30 PM

Government Center Room 430 115 S. Andrews Avenue Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

SUMMARY MINUTES

Members Present

Co-chair: Senator Rich Bartleman, Robin Bush. Lois Carballo, Isabel Cosio Cavros, George Gottlieb, Lee Heimlich, Barry Kaltman, Adrienne Kaufer, Ilan Kornahrens, Robert Commissioner Lonergan Polsky, Colin Commissioner Shuham Sifuentes, Dorothy Sniezek, Henry Vice Mayor Welch

Members Absent

Co-chair: Commissioner Furr Forbes, Sasha Cirminiello, Jeffrey Keys, Kelly Rotolo, Chris

I. Welcome

Senator Rich welcomed the members of the task force.

II. Roll Call

Roll was called. Sixteen members were present and five were absent. A quorum was present.

III. Call to Order

Senator Rich called the meeting to order at 12:40 PM.

IV. Approval of Minutes of February 28, 2019

A motion was made, approved by Commissioner Lonergan, seconded by Vice Mayor Welch, and passed to accept the minutes of the February 28, 2019 meeting.

V. Announcements

a. None.

VI. Task Force Member Updates on CCAP Action Items

Adrienne Kaltman: The Democratic Environmental Caucus of Florida held a townhall meeting. Several task force members spoke or attended. The event had over 150 attendees and 1,200 views on Facebook. Purpose was to spread awareness and concern for Climate Change in Florida and Broward County.

Lois Bush: Florida transportation plan may include environmental and economic resilience elements. Regional workshops will be scheduled.

VII. Subcommittee Updates:

Henry Sniezek: EV subcommittee has reviewed the County Climate Action Plan and the Regional Climate Action Plan to find strategies that align with transportation and EVs. The subcommittee has selected two focus areas: 1) identify partners and evaluate structures for resiliency and 2) collaborate with other agencies and municipalities to learn more about EV infrastructure plans.

George Cavros: Social Equity subcommittee wants to include diversity, equity, and inclusion in future Climate Change Task Force strategies, deliberations, and external communications. The subcommittee also plans to review options to improve access to energy efficiency services to all communities within Broward County, to coordinate with advocacy groups and solar energy loan funds within low- and middle-income communities. Ilan Kaufer asked to be added to the subcommittee.

Commissioner Shuham: The City Collaboration subcommittee plans to share Climate Change Task Force news with municipalities and school board members, and highlight the Mayors Roundtable. Feedback from the municipalities may be requested on the seawall ordinance, the electric vehicle infrastructure plans, and the Broward County Solar Co-op. Commissioner Lonergan invited others to join the subcommittee and asked other for any news or ideas that can be shared with their outreach lists.

Presentations and Discussion Items

a. Discussion and Vote of Florida Energy Resolution

- i. Proposed resolution to ask the Florida Public Service Commission to set meaningful goals for energy efficiency.
- ii. Discussion ensued regarding the specific goal in the resolution, as it is

- an attainable goal, and possibly updating the resolution to show Florida's current efficiency (0.29%) in comparison to the nation's efficiency.
- iii. A motion was made to add the current Florida efficiency figure (0.29%) to the resolution, seconded and passed, with two disagreements (Barry Heimlich and Ilan Kaufer).

b. Establishment of Resilience Fund as part of Broward County Budget

- i. Dr. Jennifer Jurado, Director and Chief Resilience Officer, EPCRD, presented on behalf of Commissioner Furr, about his proposal for a resilience fund line item within the County's budget. Commissioner Furr's aide, Clay Miller, asked for the task force's support in a vote.
- ii. Discussion ensued regarding the amount of funding, current needs and use.
- iii. A motion was made by Robin Bartleman to approve the vote of support, if it includes that the funding can come from capital and general funds. Motion was seconded and passed with no members opposed.

c. Dania Beach Economic Resilience Study

i. Aaron McGregor, Economist, Sustainable Economics, AECOM, presented the results of the NOAA-FDEP grant funded Dania Beach Economic Study completed by the County last year. The study used the REMI model, which will be the same model applied in the upcoming Compact Regional Economic Resilience Working Group study.

d. Community Solar Co-op Update

i. Jill Horwitz, Climate Resilience Specialist, EPCRD, shared progress and outcomes from the Broward community-wide solar co-op.

e. SE Florida Regional Climate Change Compact Update

i. Dr. Jennifer Jurado, Director and Chief Resilience Officer, EPCRD, presented an update on the Southeast Florida Regional Climate Change Compact, with an emphasis on economic resilience initiatives and the Unified Sea Level Rise Projection update workgroup.

f. Legislative Update

- i. Jason Liechty, Senior Environmental Project Coordinator, EPCRD, presented a legislative update including the Governor's Executive Order, relevant proposals and relevant bills.
- ii. A motion was made by Adrienne Kaltman to recommend the County pass a resolution supporting HR 763, the Energy Innovation and Carbon Dividend Act of 2019. Motion was passed and approved with no members opposed.

Meeting Adjourned at 3:25 PM.

Next meeting: Monday, August 19, 2019, 1:30 PM - 4:30 PM.