Board of Rules and Appeals Process - Direct Discipline Contacts

 

 


ATTENTION -
Contractors, design professionals, and building officials are all invited to contact the Board of Rules and Appeals (BORA) staff to help address any of their building code or fire code issues. Electrical, mechanical, plumbing, structural and fire chief code compliance officer discipline specific contact information is immediately below. Please feel free to contact the discipline that you need by calling the BORA chief code compliance officer directly.

“Our mission is to help both sides in any potential or actual dispute to achieve a successful resolution.”

It is recommended that you  start your discussion with the local building or fire department but do not hesitate to contact BORA as needed to help resolve problems while they are still small or to file a formal appeal of a local or county building or fire department decision. If the issue is specified in building or fire code book language, it can be appealed, Jim DiPietro, Administrative Director BORA.
BORA Administrative Director
Jim DiPietro
954-765-4500 Ext. 9892
 
BORA Code Compliance Officers - 954-765-4500
 
Cris Fardelmann, Chief Structural Code Compliance Officer Ext. 9887 dfardelmann@broward.org
Michael Guerasio, Chief Structural Code Compliance Officer Ext. 9886 mguerasio@broward.org
Rolando Soto, Chief Mechanical Code Compliance Officer Ext. 9893 rosoto@broward.org
Ken Castronovo, Chief Electrical Code Compliance Officer Ext. 9888 kcastronovo@broward.org
Bryan Parks, Chief Fire Code Compliance Officer Ext. 9884 bparks@broward.org
Otto Vinas, Chief Plumbing Code Compliance Officer Ext. 9894 ovinas@broward.org
BORA Administrative Coordinator II
Ruth Boselli
954-765-4500 Ext. 9889
 
BORA Administrative Staff - 954-765-4500
 

Pat (Maria) Kong, Board Technician I Ext. 9883 mkong@broward.org
Brianna Curry, Board Technician I Ext. 9885 bcurry@broward.org
Jonda Joseph, Board Technician I Ext. 9891 jondajoseph@broward.org

Anonymous complaints concerning building departments might first be directed to city or county management employees, but if necessary anyone is welcome to contact Jim DiPietro, Administrative Director at the Broward County Board of Rules and Appeals. The Director can also be reached after regular hours on cell number 954-931-2393.  
Accessibility Assistance  
For new construction accessibility questions should first be discussed with your local building department.
The Department of Justice can help you with your questions on existing buildings. The Department of Justice help line is 800-514-0301.
Broward County Board of Rules and Appeals (BORA) can also help to resolve accessibility questions concerning new construction. Accessibility questions can be referred to the BORA’s staff at 954-765-4500. Cris Fardelmann, Ext. 9887 dfardelmann@broward.org and Michael Guerasio, Ext. 9886 mguerasio@broward.org to address any structural concerns. Otto Vinas, Ext. 9894 ovinas@broward.org  can address plumbing concerns.
BORA’s representative of the disabled community, Ken Wynn, also offered to help. He can be reached at kenbwynn@bellsouth.net.