share   tweet

Chauffeur

 Chauffeur

  

We regulate chauffeurs that drive taxicabs, luxury sedans, stretch limousines, transport vans, and paratransit service vehicles in Broward County as detailed in Chapter 22-½ of the Broward County Code of Ordinances. These drivers must register as a Chauffeur.


​Minimum requirements for a registration include:

  • A valid Florida driver license or be otherwise authorized to drive in Florida (Sec. 322.032, F.S.)
  • Ability to speak, read, and write in English
  • The mental, emotional and physical ability to safely carry out the duties inherent in operating a motor vehicle-for-hire.

Applicants must pass a criminal and driving record background check and other considerations outlined in the ordinance.

Registrations issued by Broward County are valid for 2 years. They can be suspended or revoked for violations and are immediately invalidated if the registrant's driver license is suspended.​​


Applying for or Renewing a Chauffeur's Registration

If you drive a vehicle for hire, other than a TNC or CMC, you must register as a chauffeur with Broward County. Drivers for TNCs and CMCs must register with the company itself.


You are strongly encouraged to 
apply online to avoid lines and making a trip to our office. If you choose to apply in person, we are located at 1 N. University Dr. in Plantation. You may apply any time Monday through Friday from 8AM to 3PM. You may record your fingerprints at our office or you may visit any Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) fingerprint providers using our ORI number: FL924990Z.


Please have the following ready when you apply:

  • valid Florida Driver License
  • Proof of citizenship or authorization to work in the United States​
​2018 Application (effective through December 31, 2018)
  • 2018 Completed application
  • 2018 New Applicant Registration Fee of $92 ($56 if fingerprints are recorded with outside vendor)  OR
  • 2018 Renewal Applicant Registration Fee of $74
2019 Application (effective January 1, 2019)

  • 2019 Completed application​
  • 2019 New Applicant Registration Fee of $93.25 ($56 if fingerprints are recorded with outside vendor)  OR
  • 2019 Renewal Applicant Registration Fee of $75.25
In addition, you must:
  • Have the ability to speak, read and write in English
  • Have the mental, emotional and physical ability to safely carry out the duties in operating a motor vehicle for hire
2019 Application Fee Breakdown

2019 New Applicant Fees
Application..............................$40
FDLE (fingerprints).................$24
Florida Driving Record............$10
Out-of-State Records.............Varies
FBI Records..............................$13.25
Monitoring Fee........................$6

2019 Renewal Applicant Fees
Application...............................$40
Florida Driving Record............$10
Out-of-State Records.............Varies
FBI Records..............................$13.25
Monitoring Fee........................$12
Late Fee....................................$25*
* within 1 year after previous license expiration


Consumer Issues & Search

​​​​​​
​​​​​​​​