Broward County's Pioneers for 2018 were honored at the 44th Annual Pioneer Day on Saturday, May 12th at Davie Town Hall located at 6591 Orange Drive, Davie, FL.

Celebrating the achievements of Broward County's Pioneers - the fearless men and women who have furthered the diversity and cultural vibrancy of their local communities - the 44th Annual Pioneer Day took take part in a free reception at noon and recognition ceremony at 1PM.
Broward's 2018 Pioneers - each nominated by local historical societies and municipalities - join the distinguished list of 1,500 other community leaders who have been honored since 1972.
The event was presented by the Broward County Historic Preservation Board, in partnership with the Town of Davie and Broward's Cultural Division. All photos by Downtown Photo.

2018 Pioneers:

MaryBoast.jpgMary Boast and Family2.jpg

1.  Mary Boast - City of Coral Springs

Jill Smith Pittillo - Old Davie SChool.jpg
2.  Beverly "Jill" Jean Smith Pittillo - Old Davie School

3.  Irwin Harlem - City of Sunrise (unable to attend)

PastorTimothy J Hartner Weston.jpg
4.  Pastor Timothy J. Hartner - City of Weston

Jean Cheney Collins - Behalf.jpg
5.  Jean Cheany Collins - Broward Trust

Roy Vizzini.jpgRoy Vizzini Family 2.jpg
6.   Rosario "Roy" Vizzini - City of Cooper City

Jeanette Marie Washington - Dania Beach.jpgJanette Marie Washington.jpg
7.   Jeanette Marie Washington - City of Dania Beach

Behalfof Frank Coleman.jpgBehalf-FrankColeman- Town of Lauderdale Lakes.jpg
8.   Frank Coleman - City of Lauderdale Lakes

9.   Diane Wendt - City of Oakland Park

SusieJonesWells-CityofWestPark.jpgSusieJonesWells- Cynthis Strachan Saunders.jpg
10. Susie Jones Wells - City of West Park

Alyce Schweyer Culpepper - Plantation Historical Society.jpgAlyce Schweyer Culpepper.jpg
11. Alyce Schweyer Culpepper - Plantation Historical Society

Behalf-Adelaide Jody Austin.jpg
12. Adelaide Judy Austin - The Genealogical Society of Broward County

13. Newell Hollingsworth - Town of Southwest Ranches

William Gundlach.jpgWilliamGundlach-CityofFortLauderdale.jpg
14. William Gundlach - City of Fort Lauderdale

JanetHoade-HollywoodHistoricalSociety.jpgJanet Hoade and Family1.jpg
15. Janet Hoade - Hollywood Historical Society

16. Israel Sweig - City of Margate

17. Arlene Lancaster - Wilton Manors Historical Society
18. Mayor Lamar Fisher - Pompano Beach Historical Society

2018 Broward County Historic Preservation Board Topical Awards:

Judge Clayton Nance Award - Old Davie School

Dr. Cooper C. Kirk Award
- Seth Bramson
Historic Preservation Board Special Award - Dirk DeJong
Stuart P. McIver Historian's Award - Cynthia Strachan Saunders ​​​Cynthia Strachan Saunders.jpg
Stuart P. McIver Historian's Award - Cynthia Strachan Saunders