Human Rights Board
Human Rights Board members, joined by the Chairs of the Advisory Board for Individuals with Disabilities

Available Human Rights publications...

View Transgender Awareness Presentation

Broward 100 Project​

Human Rights Board Palm Card​

Report a complaint​

The purpose of the Broward County Human Rights Board is to encourage equality of treatment and to prevent discrimination against any racial, religious, ethnic, or other minority group or its members.

Our Mission Statement: The Human Rights Board champions the rights of those who might otherwise be denied their civil liberties and seeks to promote respect and further cultural, economic and social understanding through education, information and the advisement on matters coming before the board.

The Human Rights Board meets quarterly on the second Monday in January, April, July, and November, 4PM, Broward County Governmental Center, Room 301. Any changes in the noticed meetings will be posted in compliance with Florida's Sunshine Law.

For additional information, please contact the Board Coordinator at 954-357-6516 or the Human Rights Section at 954-357-7800.

The Broward County Code provides more information on the Human Rights Board. Access and view this information. Select Part II – Ordinances, Chapter 16½ – Human Rights, Article II – Human Rights Board.


October 16, 2017
Agenda  |  Minutes​

July 10, 2017
Agenda  |  Minutes

April 13, 2017
Agenda​  |  Minutes

January 9, 2017
Agenda​  |  Minutes​

November 14, 2016
Agenda   |   Minutes

September 12, 2016
Agenda   |   Minutes

July 11, 2016
Agenda  |  Minutes

May 23, 2016
Agenda  |  Minutes

April 11, 2016
Agenda  |  Minutes

January 11, 2016
Agenda  |  Minutes

June 9, 2015
Agenda  |  Minutes

July 27, 2015
Agenda  |  Minutes

October 19, 2015
Meeting Cancelled 


Human Rights Board Members

Chair - Ellen Feiler
Vice Chair - Michael Rajner

Name Appointing Commissioner
Maria Barth Commissioner Beam Furr
Miya Burt-Stewart Commissioner Beam Furr
Marta Estevez Commissioner Marty Kiar
Ellen Feiler Commissioner Tim Ryan
Shaheewa Jarrett Gelin Commissioner Dale Holness
Joy Kuttiyani Commissioner Marty Kiar
Gregory Milford Commissioner Chip LaMarca
Justin Nepola Commissioner Barbara Sharief
Michael Rajner Commissioner Tim Ryan
Phyllis Shaw Commissioner Stacy Ritter
Joshua Simmons Commissioner Mark D. Bogen
Ben Sorensen Commissioner Chip LaMarca

Board Liaison

Barbara Ann McGovern, Board Coordinator
Office of Intergovernmental Affairs and Professional Standards
115 South Andrews Avenue, Room 427
Fort Lauderdale, FL  33301

Required Plug-ins: PDF icon  Adobe® Reader®​​​​​