Skip navigation links
Message From The Chair
Local Bill Report
About the Members
Budget Overview
  • Senate Members
  • District 25 - Senator Ellyn Setnor Bogdanoff
  • District 29 - Senator Christopher L. “Chris” Smith
  • District 30 - Senator Maria Lorts Sachs
  • District 31 - Senator Eleanor Sobel
  • District 32 - Senator Jeremy Ring
  • District 34 - Senator Nan H. Rich
  • District 35 - Senator Gwen Margolis
  • District 39 - Senator Larcenia J. Bullard
  • House Members
  • District 78 - Representative Steven M. “Steve” Perman, D.C.
  • District 87 - Representative Bill Hager
  • District 90 - Representative Irving “Irv” Slosberg
  • District 91 - Representative George R. Moraitis, Jr.
  • District 92 - Representative Gwyndolen Clarke-Reed
  • District 93 - Representative Perry E. Thurston, Jr.
  • District 94 - Representative Hazelle P. “Hazel” Rogers
  • District 95 - Representative James W. “Jim” Waldman
  • District 96 - Representative Ari Abraham Porth
  • District 97 - Representative Martin David “Marty” Kiar
  • District 98 - Representative Franklin Sands
  • District 99 - Representative Elaine J. Schwartz
  • District 100 - Representative Evan Jenne
  • District 101 - Representative Matt Hudson
  • District 102 - Representative Eduardo “Eddy” Gonzalez
  • District 103 - Representative Barbara Watson
  • District 105 - Representative Joseph A. “Joe” Gibbons
  • District 112 - Representative Jeanette M. Nunez
About the Delegation

The Broward Legislative Delegation was created in 1971 by the Florida Legislature as Chapter 71-559, Laws of Florida. The Legislature recognized the value of providing the citizens, governmental entities and community organizations of Broward County with an organized method for them to communicate with the members of the Delegation regarding their legislative requests.

There are 26 members of the Delegation: eight Senate members; 18 House members. Six of the members are Republican and 20 are Democrats. The Delegation members have been called upon to work as advocates for varied constituent interests as well as concerns of their own particular districts.

The Executive Director of the Broward Legislative Delegation coordinates legislative issues with the Delegation members and their staffs both in Broward County and in Tallahassee. The Executive Director is also charged with the facilitation of the local bill progress from its inception in Broward through the committee members and staff during the legislative session.

The Delegation’s function is to assist citizens in communicating with the members, organize public hearings, and act as a liaison between community organizations and the Delegation. This also involves representing the Delegation members at various community meetings.

Each year, the Delegation office organizes public hearings which afford the general public, governmental entities and community groups the opportunity to request assistance with various projects or issues. The hearings may be held at various locations throughout the county or at the Governmental Center.

Representative Evan Jenne served as Chair of the Delegation and Senator Eleanor Sobel served as Vice Chair for the 2012 Legislative Session. Each chair or vice chair serves a one year term and, according to Delegation Rules, the positions must alternate between House and Senate.

Eugene M. Steinfeld, Esq. serves as Delegation Counsel, a position he has held for more than 25 years.

Tallahassee sign

The Delegation Executive Director is Sandy Harris and the Administrative Assistant is Faith Lombardo. The Delegation Office is located in Room 429 of the Broward Governmental Center. More information can be found on the website: or by telephoning the office at (954) 357-6555.