Route One ReadsThe State Centers for the Book linked by U.S. Route 1, which extends from Fort Kent, Maine, to Key West, Florida, are joining together to promote books that illuminate important aspects of their states/commonwealths for readers travelling the major and meandering highway. Read more about it at
For 2016, the Florida Center for the Book’s RouteOneReads is John D. MacDonald’s The Deep Blue Good-By, the first in a series of 21 books by the late author that focus on Travis McGee, a self-described beach bum who won his houseboat, the Busted Flush, anchored in slip F18 at the Bahia Mar Marina in Fort Lauderdale, in a card game. He’s also a knight-errant who’s wary of credit cards, retirement benefits, political parties, mortgages, and television. He only works when his cash runs out, and his rule is simple: he’ll help you find whatever was taken from you, as long as he can keep half.
About the Book
Travis McGee isn’t particularly strapped for cash, but how can anyone say no to Cathy, a sweet backwoods girl who’s been tortured repeatedly by her manipulative ex-boyfriend Junior Allen? What Travis isn’t anticipating is just how many women Junior has torn apart and left in his wake. Enter Junior’s latest victim, Lois Atkinson.
Frail and broken, Lois can barely get out of bed when Travis finds her, let alone keep herself alive. But Travis turns into Mother McGee, giving Lois new life as he looks for the ruthless man who steals women’s spirits and livelihoods. But he can’t guess how violent his quest is soon to become. He’ll learn the hard way that there must be casualties in this game of cat and mouse.
About the Author 
John D. MacDonald (July 24, 1916 – December 28, 1986) was an American writer of novels and short stories, known for his thrillers.
MacDonald was a prolific author of crime and suspense novels, many of them set in his adopted home of Florida. His best-known works include the popular and critically acclaimed Travis McGee series, and his novel The Executioners, which was filmed twice as Cape Fear in 1962 and again in 1991. In 1972, MacDonald was named a grandmaster of the Mystery Writers of America, and was awarded a National Book Award in 1980. Stephen King has praised MacDonald as "the great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller." 
The Travis McGee novels, in chronological order, are as follows:
(1964) The Deep Blue Good-by
(1964) Nightmare in Pink
(1964) A Purple Place for Dying
(1964) The Quick Red Fox
(1965) A Deadly Shade of Gold
(1965) Bright Orange for the Shroud
(1966) Darker than Amber
(1966) One Fearful Yellow Eye
(1968) Pale Gray for Guilt
(1968) The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper
(1969) Dress Her in Indigo
(1970) The Long Lavender Look
(1972) A Tan and Sandy Silence
(1973) The Scarlet Ruse
(1973) The Turquoise Lament
(1975) The Dreadful Lemon Sky
(1978) The Empty Copper Sea
(1979) The Green Ripper
(1981) Free Fall in Crimson
(1982) Cinnamon Skin
(1985) The Lonely Silver Rain
Additional Resources