K-12 Assistance
Learning Services - K-12 Assistance
 
After-School @ Your Library
- Website
This program provides tutoring, homework help, reading practice and enrichment, computer skills and character development for students 6-12 years old.


FREE SAT & ACT 2017 Program Schedule
 

Thank you for your interest in the free new SAT and ACT Workshops for College-Bound Students. These events, sponsored by the Broward Public Library Foundation, the Mangurian Foundation, and Broward College, feature comprehensive workshops presented by Alberto Howe, founder of AffordableCollegeSolutions.com and former executive director of The Princeton Review.
 
The program is intensive and comparable to those of expensive test-prep courses. Class sessions, which include practice tests and test-taking strategies, focus on four components per test subject: fundamentals, technique, recognition/reaction, and timing manipulation. Homework will be assigned.
 
Parents are encouraged to attend the first 15 minutes of the first session and the entire last session.
 
Participants should attend every session and bring pencils, highlighter, notebook, and calculator.
 
Take note juniors and seniors: You should seriously prepare for and take both the new SAT and the ACT due to their similarities in design. Each class session will focus on the listed test shown for its particular schedule; however, we will also discuss how each subject’s technique is applied to both tests.
 
Take note sophomores: The ideal time for current sophomores to prepare for the SAT or ACT is summer after sophomore year. As a sophomore, your time should really be spent on maintaining a solid GPA and participating in high school activities or clubs. Juniors and seniors will be given priority for all programs.
 
No online registration available. To pre-register, please call your preferred library location. Programs subject to schedule adjustments when necessary. Seating is limited.

 
STEP 1: KNOW YOUR PROGRAM
 
STEP 2: KNOW YOUR LOCATION & COMMIT
*To pre-register, please call your preferred library location.
 
West Regional Library, Plantation, 954-765-1585
8601 W. Broward Boulevard, 33324
Session 1: Tuesday, January 3, 5:30 to 7:30PM
Session 2: Tuesday, January 10, 5:30 to 7:30PM
Session 3: Tuesday, January 17, 5:30 to 7:30PM
Session 4: Tuesday, January 24, 5:30 to 7:30PM
Session 5: Tuesday, January 31, 5:30 to 7:30PM
Prepares for the January 21st New SAT
and February 11th ACT

Pre-registration begins December 17, 2016
 
Main Library, Downtown Ft. Lauderdale, 954-357-7504
100 S. Andrews Avenue, 33301
Session 1: Wednesday, January 4, 5 to 7PM
Session 2: Wednesday, January 11, 5 to 7PM
Session 3: Wednesday, January 25, 5 to 7PM
Session 4: Wednesday, February 1, 5 to 7PM
Session 5: Wednesday, February 8, 5 to 7PM
Prepares for the January 21st New SAT
and February 11th ACT

Pre-registration begins December 5, 2016
 
South Regional Library, Pembroke Pines, 954-201-8821
7300 Pines Boulevard, 33024
Session 1: Tuesday, February 7, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 2: Tuesday, February 14, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 3: Tuesday, February 21, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 4: Tuesday, February 28, 5 to 7:30PM
Prepares for the March 11th New SAT
Pre-registration begins January 31, 2017
 
Southwest Regional Library, West Pembroke Pines, 954-357-6580 ext 4
16835 Sheridan Street, 33331
Session 1: Tuesday, March 14, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 2: Tuesday, March 21, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 3: Tuesday, March 28, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 4: Tuesday, April 4, 5 to 7:30PM
Prepares for the April 8th ACT
Pre-registration begins February 27, 2017
 
Northwest Regional Library, Coral Springs, 954-357-7990 ext 4
3151 University Drive, 33065
Session 1: Wednesday, March 15, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 2: Wednesday, March 22, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 3: Wednesday, March 29, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 4: Wednesday, April 5, 5 to 7:30PM
Prepares for the April 8th ACT
Pre-registration begins March 01, 2017
 
AARLCC, Fort Lauderdale, 954-357-6209
2650 Sistrunk Boulevard, 33311
Session 1: Tuesday, April 11, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 2: Tuesday, April 18, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 3: Tuesday, April 25, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 4: Tuesday, May 2, 5 to 7:30PM
Prepares for the May 6th New SAT
Pre-registration begins March 14, 2017
 
North Regional/BC Library, Coconut Creek, 954-201-2600 ext 4
1100 Coconut Creek Boulevard, 33066
Session 1: Wednesday, April 12, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 2: Wednesday, April 19, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 3: Wednesday, April 26, 5 to 7:30PM
Session 4: Wednesday, May 3, 5 to 7:30PM
Prepares for the May 6th New SAT
Pre-registration begins March 12, 2017