Skip navigation links
News
Events & Classes
Catalogs & Online Resources
Locations & Hours
Support Your Library
A to Z
Help
Skip navigation links
Learning Services
Programs
Online Resources
Software
K-12 Assistance
Education & Job Resources
E-Government
Community Services
Partners
K-12 Assistance
Learning Services - K-12 Assistance
 
After-School @ Your Library Free SAT and ACT Workshops
 
 After-School @ Your Library

Provides tutoring, homework help, reading practice and enrichment, computer skills and character development for students 6-12 years old. Parents must first visit the library to register their children in the program. Children are required to attend regularly. Contact your youth services librarian for more information. After-School @ Your Library is funded by the Children’s Services Council of Broward County in partnership with Broward County Library. 
View Website

Coordinator: Karen Williams, 954-357-7519  E-mail: Kwilliam@broward.org 
Locations: Please refer to the AS@YL link for library locations. 

FREE SAT & ACT Workshops for College-Bound Students

SAT Coordinator: Sydna Wexler, 954-357-7344  E-mail: swexler@broward.org

Sponsored by the Broward Public Library Foundation and The Harry T. Mangurian, Jr. Foundation, Inc. SAT and ACT Workshops presented by Alberto Howe, Founder of Affordable College Solutions.

 Step 1: Know Your Program & Commit

All Sessions = Mandatory Attendance

Session 1: SAT/ACT Math & Science Section Breakdown & Strategies
Session 2: SAT/ACT Reading Section Breakdown & Strategies
Session 3: SAT/ACT Grammar & Essay Section Breakdown & Strategies
Session 4: SAT/ACT Putting It All Together: Scores & Planning
 
*Some locations have modified schedules to accommodate necessary info.

 Step 2: Pick Your Location & Commit

Beat the January 25th SAT & February 8th ACT

Main Library, 100 S. Andrews Ave, Fort Lauderdale, 33301
 
Session 1a: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, October 23, 2013 
Session 1b: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Tuesday, October 29, 2013 
Session 2a: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, October 30, 2013 
Session 2b: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, November 6, 2013 
Session 3a: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, December 18, 2013 
Session 3b: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, January 8, 2014 
Session 4: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, January 22, 2014 
 
*Call 954-357-7504 to pre-register.


Beat the February 8th ACT & March 8th SAT

North Regional/BC Campus Library, 1100 Coconut Creek Blvd., Coconut Creek, 33066

Session 1: 10:30 a.m. to 2 p.m., Saturday, January 18, 2014 
Session 2: 10:30 a.m. to 2 p.m., Saturday, February 1, 2014 
Session 3: 10:30 a.m. to 2 p.m., Saturday, February 22, 2014 
Session 4: 10:30 a.m. to 2 p.m., Saturday, March 1, 2014
 
*Call 954-201-2626 to pre-register. Pre-registration begins December 9, 2013

Southwest Regional Library, 16835 Sheridan Street, Pembroke Pines, 33331

Session 1: 1 to 5 p.m., Saturday, January 11, 2014 
Session 2: 5 to 8 p.m., Wednesday, January 15, 2014 
Session 3: 1 to 5 p.m., Saturday, January 25, 2014 
Session 4: 5 to 8 p.m., Wednesday, January 29, 2014 

*Call 954-357-6733 to pre-register. Pre-registration begins December 16, 2013


Beat the March 8th SAT Only

West Regional Library, 8601 W. Broward Blvd., Plantation, 33324

Session 1a: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Tuesday, February 4, 2014 
Session 1b: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Tuesday, February 11, 2014 
Session 2: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Tuesday, February 18, 2014 
Session 3: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Tuesday, February 25, 2014 
Session 4: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Tuesday, March 4, 2014 

*Call 954-765-1560 ext. 4 to pre-register. Pre-registration begins January 21, 2014

Main Library, 100 S. Andrews Ave, Fort Lauderdale, 33301

Session 1a: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, February 5, 2014 
Session 1b: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, February 12, 2014 
Session 2: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, February 19, 2014 
Session 3: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, February 26, 2014 
Session 4: 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, March 5, 2014 

*Call 954-357-7504 to pre-register. Pre-registration begins December 09, 2013 


Beat the April 12th ACT Only

Northwest Regional Library, 3151 N. University Dr., Coral Springs, 33065

Session 1a: 5 to 7 p.m., Wednesday, March 12, 2014 
Session 1b: 5 to 7 p.m., Wednesday, March 19, 2014 
Session 2: 5 to 7 p.m., Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Session 3: 5 to 7 p.m., Wednesday, April 2, 2014
Session 4: 5 to 7 p.m., Wednesday, April 9, 2014

*Call 954-357-7990 ext. 4 to pre-register. Pre-registration begins February 24, 2014


Programs are for high school sophomores, juniors, and seniors and include practice tests and strategies, essay writing, and financial aid/scholarship information. Parents are encouraged to attend the first hour of the first session and the entire last session.
 
Participants must attend every session and should bring two #2 pencils with erasers, notebook, and a calculator to the sessions.

Contact the above library locations to pre-register. No online registration available.

 
Back to Top