Calendar of Events

Calendar of Events
Some parks have their own Monthly or Quarterly Calendar pages. Consult these pages and the monthly Highlights and Nearby Nature newsletters for additional information.

Effective March 1, 2013, Florida sales tax is applicable to most fees. The parks' regular weekend and holiday gate entrance fee of $1.50/person (children 5 and under free) is not affected.

Call the park of your choice to confirm fees and registration requirements - preregistration is required for many programs and may be available through our Register Online system.

Date/Time Activity  Park
ONGOING
​Tues.
​5:30-6:30 p.m. ​Zumba ​T.Y.
​Thurs.
​10:30-11:30 a.m. ​Zumba West Lake
​Sat.
​Dusk-Midnight Fox Observatory Opens to Public ​Markham
Sun.
​11 a.m.-2:30 p.m. ​South Florida Model Sailing Club ​​C.B. Smith
AUGUST 2016
Wednesdays & Fridays
​8 p.m. ​Sea Turtles & Their Babies - SOLD OUT Anne Kolb
Sat.-Sun., Aug. 27 & 28
​10 a.m. ​India vs West Indies T20 Cricket Central Broward Stadium
Sun., Aug. 28
​8 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Miami Masters Road Races ​Brian Piccolo
​10-11 a.m. ​Guided Nature Hike Long Key
​1-4 p.m. ​Jamming in the Park Secret Woods
Mon., Aug. 29
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Paddling EcoTour West Lake
Wed., Aug. 31
​10-11 a.m. ​Knee-High Naturalist (ages 3-5) Long Key
SEPTEMBER 2016
Thurs., Sept. 1
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Basic Kayak Class West Lake
​5-10 p.m. ​Food Truck Invasion Quiet Waters
Fri., Sept. 2
​10-11 a.m. ​Naturalist-Led Tour ​Highlands Scrub
Sun., Sept. 4
​7-9 a.m. ​King of the Hill Run Vista View
Tues., Sept. 6
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots (ages 2-4) ​Miramar Pineland
​10-11 a.m. ​Naturalist-Led Tour - canceled Tall Cypress
​5:30-9:30 p.m. ​Family Night With Food Trucks Plantation Heritage
Wed., Sept. 7
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Walk, Waddle, Wiggle (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
​2-3 p.m. ​Naturalist-Led Tour - canceled ​Hillsboro Pineland
Thurs., Sept. 8
​10-11 a.m. ​Preschool Play 'n' Learn (ages 3-5) Long Key
Fri., Sept. 9
​10-11 a.m. ​Naturalist-Led Tour ​Crystal Lake
Sat., Sept. 10
​9 a.m.-noon ​Flyway Planting Party Anne Kolb, Deerfield Island, Easterlin, Quiet Waters
Sun., Sept. 11
​noon-3 p.m. ​Teddy Bear Picnic ​Long Key
​2-3 p.m. ​Butterfly Gardening Class Secret Woods
Tues., Sept. 13
​10-11 a.m. ​Naturalist-Led Tour - canceled Woodmont
​5:30-9:30 p.m. ​Family Night With Food Trucks Plantation Heritage
Wed., Sept. 14
​10-11 a.m. ​Naturalist-Led Tour - canceled Helene Klein
Thurs., Sept. 15
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots (ages 2-4) Fern Forest
​5-9 p.m. ​Food Truck Invasion ​Quiet Waters
​7-9 p.m. ​Moonlight Paddle West Lake
Fri., Sept. 16
​10-11 a.m. ​Naturalist-Led Tour ​Military Trail
​7:30-9 p.m. ​An Evening With the Stars Astronomy Program Fern Forest
​7:30-8:30 p.m. Night Hike by the Seashore Hollywood North Beach
​8-9 p.m. Full-Moon Hike Long Key
Sat., Sept. 17
​7:30 a.m. Walk for Water ​Markham
​8:30 a.m.-7:30 p.m. ​Synergy Dragon Boat Races ​T.Y.
​9-11 a.m. Science Eye Nature Program:
Astounding Eclipses & Phases of the Moon
Everglades Holiday
​9 a.m.-noon ​Coastal Cleanup Hollywood North Beach
​10 a.m.-noon ​Tandem Leisure Bicycle Ride
(adults who are blind/visually impaired)
Tradewinds
​11 a.m.-3 p.m. ​Estuary Day Anne Kolb
Sat. & Sun., Sept. 17 & 18
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
Sun., Sept. 18
​2-4 p.m. ​Outdoor Fun Secret Woods
​2:30-4:30 p.m. ​Team/Family Shutterbug Photo Hunt Fern Forest
Tues., Sept. 20
​10-11 a.m. ​Naturalist-Led Tour - canceled Tall Cypress
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots (ages 2-4) ​West Lake
​5:30-9:30 p.m. ​Family Night With Food Trucks Plantation Heritage
Wed., Sept. 21
​noon-1 p.m. ​Naturalist-Led Tour West Creek Pineland
​5-9:30 p.m. ​Food Truck Invasion Brian Piccolo
Thurs., Sept. 22
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Paddling EcoTour West Lake
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots (ages 2-4) Secret Woods
Fri., Sept. 23
​10-11 a.m. ​Naturalist-Led Tour Highlands Scrub
Sat., Sept. 24
​9 a.m.-noon ​Survivor Island Deerfield Island
​9 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Fall Into Foliage Native Plant Sale Fern Forest
​1-3 p.m. ​Tapestries of Nature Secret Woods
Sun., Sept. 25
​call for times ​Optime Consulting 5K Markham
​10-10:45 a.m. ​Trail Stroll Anne Kolb
​1-4 p.m. ​Jamming in the Park Secret Woods
​2-4 p.m. ​Krafting With Kay Secret Woods
Tues., Sept. 27
​10-11 a.m. ​Naturalist-Led Tour - canceled Woodmont
​5:30-9:30 p.m. ​Family Night With Food Trucks Plantation Heritage
Wed., Sept. 28
​10-11 a.m. ​Naturalist-Led Tour - canceled Helene Klein
Thurs., Sept. 29
​5-9:30 p.m. ​Food Truck Invasion Tradewinds
Fri., Sept. 30
​7-9:30 p.m. Friday Night Social
(ages 18+ living w/ mental illness)
Tree Tops
OCTOBER 2016
Sat., Oct. 1
​9 a.m.-2 p.m. Low-Cost Pet Rabies Clinic T.Y.
Sat. & Sun., Oct. 1 & 2
​9 a.m.-5 p.m. ​K9 Water Festival ​T.Y.
Wed., Oct. 5
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Not-So-Scary Halloween (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
Fri., Oct. 7
​7:30 a.m. ​Parks Advisory Board Meeting ​UF-IFAS Extension Education Auditorium
Sat. & Sun., Oct. 8 & 9
​9 a.m.-3 p.m. ​Barktoberfest Quiet Waters
Sun., Oct. 9
​2-3:30 p.m. ​Family Fun Nature Series: All About Bees Anne Kolb
Sat., Oct. 15
​9-11 a.m. ​​Science Eye Nature Program:
Watch the Hand
Everglades Holiday
​9 a.m.-noon ​Big 20th Anniversary Cleanup Anne Kolb
​10-11 a.m. ​Saturday Stroll and Learn: Wetlands Fern Forest
Sat. & Sun., Oct. 15 & 16
​9 a.m.-5 p.m. ​K9 Water Festival T.Y.
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
​8-9 p.m. Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
Fri.-Sun., Oct. 21-23
​check-in: 3 p.m. Fri.
checkout: 1 p.m. Sun.
​Bed & Breakfast Quiet Waters
​Sat., Oct. 22
​9 a.m.-noon ​Survivor Island Deerfield Island
Fri., Oct. 28
​6:30-9 p.m. ​Trunk or Treat Quiet Waters
Sat., Oct. 29
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. ​Fifth Annual Fall Festival Tradewinds
​7:30 p.m. Dark and Spooky Forest Stroll Fern Forest
​NOVEMBER 2016
Wed., Nov. 2
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Hide & Seek (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
Sun., Nov. 6
​2-3:30 p.m. ​Family Fun Nature Series: Be a Good Angler! Anne Kolb
Thurs., Nov. 10
​6-7 p.m. Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
Sat., Nov. 12
​8 a.m. ​Walking for Mental Health ​Tradewinds
​10 a.m.-2 p.m. Go Native Plant Sale Quiet Waters
​10 a.m.-2 p.m. ​Everyday Green Expo Quiet Waters
Sun., Nov. 13
​10 a.m. ​Jamaican Jerk Festival ​Markham
​2-5 p.m. ​20th Anniversary Silent Auction & Music Celebration Anne Kolb
Mon., Nov. 14
​5:30 p.m. Night Hike Secret Woods
​7 p.m. Supermoon Hike Long Key
Fri., Nov. 18
​7-9:30 p.m. Teen Social: Western Hoedown
(ages 13-22 w/ developmental disabilities)
Tree Tops
​7:30 p.m. Shooting Star Forest Stroll Fern Forest
Sat., Nov. 19
​10-11 a.m. ​Saturday Stroll and Learn: Epiphytes Fern Forest
Fri.-Sun., Nov. 18-20
​check-in: 3 p.m. Fri.
checkout: 1 p.m. Sun.
​Bed & Breakfast Quiet Waters
Sat., Nov. 19
​9-11 a.m. ​​Science Eye Nature Program:
Food for Thought...Thoughtful for Finches
Everglades Holiday
Sat. & Sun., Nov. 19 & 20
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
Sun., Nov. 20
​noon ​Nature Lecture Series: Snakes ​​Fern Forest
Wed., Nov. 23
​5 p.m. ​Sunset Nature Walk Miramar Pineland
​Sat., Nov. 26
​9 a.m.-noon ​Survivor Island ​Deerfield Island
Sun., Nov. 27
​noon ​Nature Lecture Series: Spiders ​​Fern Forest
DECEMBER 2016
Fri., Dec. 2
​7:30 a.m. ​Parks Advisory Board Meeting ​Secret Woods
Sun., Dec. 4
​noon ​Nature Lecture Series:
Dangerous Plants, Animals, & Insects
​​Fern Forest
​2-3:30 p.m. ​Family Fun Nature Series: Art & Nature Anne Kolb
Wed., Dec. 7
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Under the Sea (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
Sat., Dec. 10
​6 a.m. BattleFrog Obstacle Race Series C.B. Smith
Fri.-Sun., Dec. 9-11
​check-in: 3 p.m. Fri.
checkout: 1 p.m. Sun.
​Bed & Breakfast Quiet Waters
Tues., Dec. 13
​7 p.m. Supermoon Hike Long Key
Fri., Dec. 16
​7:30-9 p.m. ​An Evening With the Stars Astronomy Program ​Fern Forest
Sat., Dec. 17
​call for times ​Day of Dignity Franklin
​9-11 a.m. ​​Science Eye Nature Program:
Hand-Held Holiday Lights
Everglades Holiday
​9 a.m.-noon ​Survivor Island Deerfield Island
​10-11 a.m. ​Saturday Stroll and Learn: Ferns Fern Forest
Sat. & Sun., Dec. 17 & 18
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
Wed., Dec. 28
​6-7 p.m. Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
JANUARY 2017
Wed., Jan. 4
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Scents & Senses (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
Sat., Jan. 21
​10-11 a.m. ​Saturday Stroll and Learn Fern Forest
Fri.-Sun., Jan. 20-22
​​check-in: 3 p.m. Fri.
checkout: 1 p.m. Sun.
​Bed & Breakfast Quiet Waters
FEBRUARY 2017
Wed., Feb. 1
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: I Spy - Wildlife! (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
Sat., Feb. 18
​10-11 a.m. ​Saturday Stroll and Learn: Invasive Exotic Species Fern Forest
MARCH 2017
Wed., Mar. 1
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Over the Rainbow (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
Sat., Mar. 18
​10-11 a.m. ​Saturday Stroll and Learn Fern Forest
APRIL 2017
Wed., Apr. 5
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Eggselent Animals (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
MAY 2017
Wed., May 3
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Beaks & Bills (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
SEPTEMBER 2017
Wed., Sept. 6
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Walk, Waddle, Wiggle (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
OCTOBER 2017
Wed., Oct. 4
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Not-So-Scary Halloween (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
NOVEMBER 2017
Wed., Nov. 1
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Hide & Seek (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
DECEMBER 2017
Wed., Dec. 6
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Under the Sea (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland

 

 

ALL INFORMATION SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE.

Individuals with disabilities requiring accommodations in order to participate in programs, services, and activities must contact the Special Populations Section at 954-357-8170 or TTY 954-537-2844 at least five business days prior to the scheduled meeting or event.