Calendar of Events
 
Calendar of Events for Broward County Parks
Our nature centers have their own Monthly Calendar pages. Consult them and the monthly Highlights and Nearby Nature electronic newsletters for additional information.

Preregistration is often required and may be available online. Call individual parks to confirm and for fee information. Florida sales tax is also now applicable to many program and facility fees, although the regular weekend and holiday gate fee of $1.50/person (children 5 and under free) at regional parks is not affected.
 
Adverse weather conditions may affect outdoor activities. Call ahead to confirm that programming will still take place.
 
ALL INFORMATION SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE.
 
Date/Time Activity  Park
APRIL 2018
Sun., Apr. 1-Sun., Apr. 22
​10 a.m.-5:30 p.m. ​100 Bags for the Earth Challenge Miramar Pineland
Fri., Apr. 20
​11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. ​Green Sharks' Fourth Annual Earth Day at Nova Southeastern University Alvin Sherman Library
​7-8 p.m. ​Sunset Adventure Hike Long Key
​7-10 p.m. ​Spring Fling Dance (ages 18+ w/ developmental disabilities) ​Sunrise Civic Center
​7:30-8:30 p.m. ​Shooting Star Forest Stroll Fern Forest
7:30-8:30 p.m. ​Night Hike ​Woodmont
Sat., Apr. 21
7:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. ​Community Cleanup Sunview
​8 a.m.-noon ​Community Cleanup Boulevard Gardens
​9 a.m.-noon ​EcoAction Volunteer Workday Anne Kolb
​9 a.m.-noon ​Fifth Annual Earth Day Waterway Cleanup Deerfield Island
​9 a.m.-noon ​Global Youth Service Day Long Key
​9 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Spring Into Gardening Native Plant Sale Fern Forest
​9:30-11:30 a.m. ​Geocaching Adventure Series ​Helene Klein
10-11 a.m. ​Earth Day Program Fern Forest
​noon-5 p.m. Free Our Seas Environmental Art Festival ​Carpenter House
Sat. & Sun., Apr. 21 & 22
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. ​Model Steam Train Rides ​​Tradewinds
Sun., Apr. 22
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Paddling EcoTour West Lake
​11 a.m.-noon ​Mangrove Adventure Hike Anne Kolb
noon-1 p.m. ​Nature Lecture Series: Spiders & Insects Fern Forest
1-4 p.m. ​Jamming in the Park Secret Woods
Tues., Apr. 24
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike ​Saw Palmetto
Wed., Apr. 25
​10-11 a.m. ​Knee-High Naturalist Long Key
Thurs., Apr. 26
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots Secret Woods
Fri., Apr. 27
9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Quiet Waters
5-8 p.m. ​Prom Dress Giveaway Franklin
​8-9 p.m. ​Nature at Night Hike Long Key
Sat., Apr. 28
7-10 a.m. ​Willem Philippi Foundation 3K ​​Tradewinds
7:30-10:30 a.m. ​Junior Bass Fishing Tournament Quiet Waters
​8:30 a.m.-noon ​Snake Plant Strike Force Volunteer Workday Highlands Scrub
9-10 a.m. ​Island History Paddle & Hike Deerfield Island
​9 a.m.-noon ​Survivor Deerfield Island
7:30-8:30 p.m. ​Night Hike Secret Woods
Sat. & Sun., Apr. 28 & 29
6 a.m.-noon American Cancer Society Relay for Life Quiet Waters
​​noon Fort Rock ​Markham
Sun., Apr. 29
​10-11 a.m. ​Guided Nature Hike Long Key
noon-1 p.m. ​Nature Lecture Series: Invasive Exotic Plants & Animals Fern Forest
​7-9 p.m. ​Moonlight Paddle West Lake
MAY 2018
Wed., May 2
​5:30 p.m. ​Parent Camp: Summer Slide & Safety Roosevelt Gardens
Thurs., May 3
​7-9 p.m. ​Friends of Anne Kolb Meeting Anne Kolb
​7:30-8:30 p.m. ​Sierra Club Meeting Fern Forest
Fri., May 4
​12:15-12:45 p.m. ​Bite-Sized Learning Lunch Easterlin
​Sat., May 5
7-10 a.m. ​Sons & Daughters of Haiti Second Annual 5K Run/Walk ​​Tradewinds
​8 a.m.-noon ​Community Cleanup Lafayette Hart
​8 a.m.-2 p.m. ​4 Kids of South Florida 5K & Big Cardio Central Broward Regional
8:30-10:30 a.m. ​Bird Walk Deerfield Island
​9 a.m.-noon ​EcoAction Volunteer Workday Fern Forest, Long Key
​9 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Native Plant Sale Secret Woods
​11 a.m.-3 p.m. ​Nature's Gifts Anne Kolb
Sun., May 6
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Basic Kayak Class West Lake
1-5 p.m. ​Association of Indians in America Spring Festival Markham
Tues., May 8
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Quiet Waters
Wed., May 9
​7-9 p.m. ​Florida Native Plant Society Meeting Secret Woods
Thurs., May 10
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots Fern Forest
​10-11 a.m. ​Preschool Play 'n' Learn Long Key
​7:30-9:30 p.m. ​Florida Trail Association Meeting Fern Forest
Fri., May 11
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Woodmont
​8-9 p.m. ​Nature at Night Hike Long Key
Sat., May 12
7-8 a.m. ​Victory Sports Management Taravella 5K ​​Tradewinds
9-10:30 a.m. ​Scrub-a-Dub-Dub Cleanup & Hike Military Trail
​9 a.m.-noon ​EcoAction Volunteer Workday Secret Woods
​11 a.m.-noon ​Plankton-a-Plenty Hike Anne Kolb
7-8:30 p.m. ​Sunset Adventure Paddle Deerfield Island
Sun., May 13
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Paddling EcoTour West Lake
​2-4 p.m. ​Dan Barrow Memorial Bluegrass Jam Fern Forest
Tues., May 15
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots West Lake
Wed., May 16
​5:30 p.m. ​Parent Camp Graduation Franklin
Fri., May 18
noon-10 p.m. ​Haitian Flag Day Central Broward Regional
​7:30-8:30 p.m. ​Night Hike Helene Klein
Sat., May 19
6-10 a.m. ​Kids' Shore-Fishing Tournament ​​Tradewinds
8 a.m.-10 p.m. ​Haitian Compass Festival Central Broward Regional
​8 a.m.-noon ​Community Cleanup Roosevelt Gardens
​8:30 a.m.-noon ​Snake Plant Strike Force Volunteer Workday Highlands Scrub
​9 a.m.-noon ​EcoAction Volunteer Workday Anne Kolb
9:30-11:30 a.m. ​Geocaching Adventure Series Highlands Scrub
Sat. & Sun., May 19 & 20
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. ​Model Steam Train Rides ​​Tradewinds
Sun., May 20
​11-11:45 a.m. ​Trail Stroll Anne Kolb
noon-1 p.m. ​Investigate It! Secret Woods
​noon-3 p.m. ​Teddy Bear Picnic Long Key
​2:30-4:30 p.m. ​Team/Family Shutterbug Photo Hunt Fern Forest
Tues., May 22
9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Hillsboro Pineland
​11 a.m.-noon ​Investigate It! Secret Woods
Thurs., May 24
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots Secret Woods
Fri., May 25
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Quiet Waters
Sat., May 26
9-10 a.m. ​Island History Paddle & Hike Deerfield Island
​9 a.m.-noon ​Survivor Deerfield Island
10 a.m.-2 p.m. ​Reading Rocks! Family Reading Fest Quiet Waters
6-10 p.m. ​Cooler Fete Central Broward Regional
Sun., May 27
​10-11 a.m. ​Guided Nature Hike Long Key
1-4 p.m. ​Jamming in the Park Secret Woods
​Mon., May 28 ​OPEN MEMORIAL DAY (Holiday) ​All Parks (except Deerfield Island)
Tues., May 29
​7:30-9:30 p.m. ​Moonlight Paddle West Lake
Wed., May 30
​10-11 a.m. ​Knee-High Naturalist Long Key
JUNE 2018
Fri., June 1
​12:15-12:45 p.m. ​Bite-Sized Learning Lunch Easterlin
Sat., June 2
​7-10 a.m. ​Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority 5K Run/Walk ​​Tradewinds
8 a.m.-noon ​Community Cleanup ​Franklin
​8:30-10:30 a.m. ​Bird Walk Deerfield Island
9 a.m.-noon ​National Trails Day Event Fern Forest
Mon., June 4
​7:30 p.m. ​Summer Adult Softball League Registration Ends Tradewinds
Thurs., June 7
​6-8 p.m. ​Friends of Anne Kolb Meeting Anne Kolb
7:30-9:30 p.m. ​Sierra Club Meeting Fern Forest
Fri., June 8
9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike West Creek Pineland
​10 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Fun Friday Long Key
6-8 p.m. ​Splashtacular Friday ​T.Y.
6-10 p.m. ​Splash in Space Quiet Waters
7:30-8:30 p.m. ​Twilight Forest Stroll Fern Forest
Sat., June 9
9-10:30 a.m. ​Scrub-a-Dub-Dub Cleanup & Hike Highlands Scrub
​9 a.m.-noon ​EcoAction Volunteer Workday Secret Woods
​1-2 p.m. ​Animal Adventure Hike Anne Kolb
7-8:30 p.m. ​Sunset Adventure Paddle Deerfield Island
Sun., June 10
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Basic Kayak Class West Lake
noon-1 p.m. ​Investigate It! Secret Woods
Mon., June 11
​call for times ​Adult Softball League Summer Season Starts Tradewinds
Mon.-Thurs., June 11-14

​8:30 a.m.-noon & 12:30-4 p.m.

​Junior Farmers' Camp ​​Tradewinds
​8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. ​Summer Horse Camp ​​Tradewinds
Mon.-Fri., June 11-15
​8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. ​Camp Adventure Summer Camp ​Tree Tops
Tues., June 12
9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Quiet Waters
​11 a.m.-noon ​Investigate It! Secret Woods
Wed., June 13
​7-9 p.m. ​Florida Native Plant Society Meeting Secret Woods
Thurs., June 14
10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots Fern Forest
​10-11 a.m. ​Preschool Play 'n' Learn Long Key
Fri., June 15
​7:30-8:30 p.m. ​Night Hike ​Saw Palmetto
7:30-9 p.m. ​An Evening With the Stars Astronomy Series Fern Forest
Sat., June 16
​9 a.m.-noon ​EcoAction Volunteer Workday Anne Kolb
9:30-11:30 a.m. ​Geocaching Adventure Series Crystal Lake
2-4 p.m. ​Gone Fishy Secret Woods
Sat. & Sun., June 16 & 17
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. ​Model Steam Train Rides ​​Tradewinds
Sun., June 17
7-10 a.m. ​Dads' Day Dash 5K Run/Walk ​​Tradewinds
​11-11:45 a.m. ​Trail Stroll Anne Kolb
2:30-4:30 p.m. ​Team/Family Shutterbug Photo Hunt Fern Forest
3-5 p.m. ​Music at the Mangrove: Harp Society Concert Anne Kolb
Mon.-Thurs., June 18-21
​8:30 a.m.-noon & 12:30-4 p.m. ​Junior Farmers' Camp ​​Tradewinds
​8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. ​Summer Horse Camp ​​Tradewinds
​Mon.-Fri., June 18-22
​8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. ​Camp Adventure Summer Camp Tree Tops
​9 a.m.-noon ​Nature Detectives Fern Forest
Tues., June 19
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots West Lake
Wed., June 20
​10 a.m. ​Reopening Ceremony Lafayette Hart
Fri., June 22
9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Quiet Waters
​10 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Fun Friday Long Key
6-10 p.m. ​Splash in Space Quiet Waters
​7-9:30 p.m. ​Friday Night Social (ages 18+ living w/ mental illness) Tree Tops
Sat., June 23
9-10 a.m. ​Island History Paddle & Hike Deerfield Island
​9 a.m.-noon ​Survivor Deerfield Island
noon-10 p.m. ​Slimapolooza With Car Show & Concert Central Broward Regional
Sun., June 24
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Paddling EcoTour West Lake
​10-11 a.m. ​Guided Nature Hike Long Key
​1-4 p.m. ​Jamming in the Park Secret Woods
​2-4 p.m. ​Krafting With Kay Secret Woods
Mon.-Thurs., June 25-28
​8:30 a.m.-noon & 12:30-4 p.m. ​Junior Farmers' Camp ​​Tradewinds
​8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. ​Summer Horse Camp ​​Tradewinds
Mon.-Fri., June 25-29
​8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. ​Camp Adventure Summer Camp Tree Tops
Tues., June 26
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Military Trail
Wed., June 27
​10-11 a.m. ​Knee-High Naturalist Long Key
Thurs., June 28
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots Secret Woods
​8-10 p.m. ​Moonlight Paddle West Lake
Fri., June 29
​6-8 p.m. ​Splashtacular Friday T.Y.
​7-8 p.m. ​Full-Moon Hike Long Key
Sat., June 30
7-8 a.m. ​Freedom 5K Quiet Waters
​10:30-11:30 a.m. ​Exploring Oceans Hike Anne Kolb
JULY 2018
Mon.-Fri., July 2-6
​8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. ​Camp Adventure Summer Camp Tree Tops
Wed., July 4 ​OPEN INDEPENDENCE DAY (Holiday) ​All Parks (except Deerfield Island)
Mon.-Fri., July 9-13
​8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. ​Camp Adventure Summer Camp Tree Tops
Mon.-Fri., July 16-20
​8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. ​Camp Adventure Summer Camp Tree Tops
Fri., July 20
​7-10 p.m. ​Summer Social Dance (ages 18+ w/ developmental disabilities) Tree Tops
Mon.-Fri., July 23-27
​8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. ​Camp Adventure Summer Camp Tree Tops
​Sat., July 28
​noon-5 p.m. ​Native Plant Sale ​Long Key
​noon-10 p.m. ​Vibes International Music Festival Central Broward Regional
Mon., July 30-Fri., Aug. 3
​8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. ​Camp Adventure Summer Camp Tree Tops
​9 a.m.-noon ​Nature Detectives Fern Forest
AUGUST 2018
Thurs., Aug. 2
​7 p.m. ​Summer Home Landscape Series Secret Woods
Mon.-Fri., Aug. 6-10
​8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. ​Camp Adventure Summer Camp Tree Tops
Thurs., Aug. 9
​7 p.m. ​Summer Home Landscape Series Secret Woods
Fri.-Sun., Aug. 10-12
​call for times ​SummerScape Camping Weekend Quiet Waters
​Sat., Aug. 11
​7 p.m. ​CPL Match: Tallawahs vs. Amazon Warriors Central Broward Regional
​Sun., Aug. 12
​7 p.m. ​CPL Match: Tallawahs vs. Knight Riders Central Broward Regional
Mon.-Fri., Aug. 13-17
​8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. ​Camp Adventure Summer Camp Tree Tops
​Tues., Aug. 14
​7 p.m. CPL Match: Tallawahs vs. Zouks Central Broward Regional
Thurs., Aug. 16
​7 p.m. ​Summer Home Landscape Series Secret Woods
Thurs., Aug. 23
​7 p.m. ​Summer Home Landscape Series Secret Woods
​Sat., Aug. 25
​9 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Native Plant Sale Secret Woods
Thurs., Aug. 30
​7 p.m. ​Summer Home Landscape Series Secret Woods
SEPTEMBER 2018
​Mon., Sept. 3 ​OPEN LABOR DAY All Parks (except Deerfield Island)
Fri., Sept. 21
​7-9:30 p.m. ​Friday Night Social (ages 18+ living w/ mental illness) Tree Tops
Sat., Sept. 22
​9 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Fall Into Foliage Native Plant Sale ​Fern Forest
OCTOBER 2018
Wed., Oct. 3
​7-8 p.m. ​Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
Fri., Oct. 19
​7-10 p.m. ​Fall Frolic Dance (ages 18+ w/ developmental disabilities) Tree Tops
NOVEMBER 2018
Wed., Nov. 7
​6-7 p.m. ​Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
​Sun., Nov. 11 ​OPEN VETERANS DAY (Holiday) All Parks
Wed., Nov. 14
​5:30-6:30 p.m. ​Sunset Hike Miramar Pineland
Thurs., Nov. 22 ​OPEN THANKSGIVING DAY (Holiday) All Parks (except Deerfield Island)
​Fri., Nov. 23 ​OPEN DAY AFTER THANKSGIVING (Holiday) All Parks (except Deerfield Island)
DECEMBER 2018
Wed., Dec. 5
​6-7 p.m. ​Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
Wed., Dec. 12
​5-6 p.m. ​Sunset Hike Miramar Pineland
Tues., Dec. 25 CLOSED FOR CHRISTMAS ​All Parks
 
 
 
Individuals with disabilities requiring accommodations in order to participate in programs, services, and activities must contact the Special Populations Section at 954-357-8170 or TTY 954-537-2844 at least five business days prior to the scheduled meeting or event.