Calendar of Events
 
Calendar of Events for Broward County Parks
Our nature centers have their own Monthly Calendar pages. Consult them and the monthly Highlights and Nearby Nature electronic newsletters for additional information.

Preregistration is often required and may be available online. Call individual parks to confirm and for fee information. Florida sales tax is also now applicable to many program and facility fees, although the regular weekend and holiday gate fee of $1.50/person (children 5 and under free) at regional parks is not affected.
 
Adverse weather conditions may affect outdoor activities. Call ahead to confirm that programming will still take place.
 
ALL INFORMATION SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE.
 
Date/Time Activity  Park
Hurricane Irma Update

What's Open, What's Closed?

Various
OCTOBER 2017
​Tues., Oct. 17
11 a.m.-noon ​Investigate It! Secret Woods
Wed., Oct. 18
​5:30 p.m. ​Parent Camp: Child Safety Delevoe
​8:30-10:30 p.m. ​Bike America Night Ride Quiet Waters
Fri., Oct. 20
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. ​Anti-Bullying Parade Lafayette Hart
​6-9 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire ​T.Y.
​7-8 p.m. ​Things That Go Bump in the Night Hike Long Key
​7-8 p.m. ​Night Hike Saw Palmetto
​7-10 p.m. ​Fall Frolic (ages 18+ w/ developmental disabilities) Tree Tops
Sat., Oct. 21
​8:30 a.m.-noon ​Snake Plant Strike Force Workday Highlands Scrub
​8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Hydrocephalus Walk Quiet Waters
​9-11 a.m. ​Science Eye Saturday Safari: Watch the Hand Everglades Holiday
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Paddling EcoTour West Lake
​9 a.m.-noon ​EcoAction Volunteer Workday Anne Kolb
​9:30-11:30 a.m. Geocaching Adventure Series Crystal Lake
​10-11 a.m. ​Saturday Stroll & Learn: Wetlands Fern Forest
​10-11 a.m. ​Owls Give a Hoot Secret Woods
​11 a.m.-3 p.m. ​Hallo-Green Anne Kolb
​Sat. & Sun., Oct. 21 & 22
​9 a.m.-5 p.m. K9 Water Festival at Castaway Island T.Y.
10-11 a.m. ​Owls Give a Hoot Secret Woods
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
​​10 a.m.-5:20 p.m. Paradise Cove Water Park Open C.B. Smith
Sun., Oct. 22
​noon-1 p.m. ​Super Science Sunday Secret Woods
​1-4 p.m. ​Jamming in the Park Secret Woods
​2-4 p.m. ​Music at the Mangrove Anne Kolb
​Tues., Oct. 24
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Helene Klein
​Wed., Oct. 25
​10-11 a.m. ​Knee-High Naturalist Long Key
11 a.m.-noon ​Super Science Secret Woods
​3-5 p.m. ​Bat Week Invasive Exotics Removal Miramar Pineland
​6-7 p.m. Pineland at Night Hike ​Miramar Pineland
​Thurs., Oct. 26
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots Secret Woods
​5-9:30 p.m. Food Truck Invasion ​Tradewinds
Fri., Oct. 27
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Quiet Waters
​​6-8 p.m. ​Ghosts & Goblins Family Fun Night Fern Forest
​6-9 p.m. ​Trick-or-Treat Family Fun Night Long Key
7-9:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire Quiet Waters
​Sat., Oct. 28
​6:30-8 a.m. ​Sunrise Paddle West Lake
​8 a.m. ​Fitness Zone Workshop ​Markham
9 a.m.-noon ​Mountain Bike Trail Maintenance Day Quiet Waters
​9 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Urban Home Vegetable Gardening Workshop Extension Education
​10 a.m.-2 p.m. ​BSO Family Fun Ride & Bike Rodeo Quiet Waters
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. ​Fall Festival ​Tradewinds
​6-9 p.m. ​Trick-or-Treat Family Fun Night Long Key
​Sat. & Sun., Oct. 28 & 29
​9 a.m.-5 p.m. ​Broward County Plant Affair - CANCELED Plantation Heritage
​​​10 a.m.-5:20 p.m. Paradise Cove Water Park Open C.B. Smith
Sun., Oct. 29
​7 a.m.-noon ​Spooktacular 5K Road Race T.Y.
​9 a.m.-4 p.m. ​All-Breed Canine Oktoberfest ​​T.Y.
5-7 p.m. ​A Creature's Trick-or-Treat Secret Woods
NOVEMBER 2017
Wed., Nov. 1
​9:30-11 a.m. Polliwogs: Hide & Seek Hillsboro Pineland
​5:30 p.m. ​Parnet Camp: Decoding Your Child's Report Card (Part 1) Lafayette Hart
Thurs., Nov. 2
7-9 p.m. ​Friends of Anne Kolb Meeting Anne Kolb
​7:30-9:30 p.m. ​Sierra Club Meeting Fern Forest
Fri., Nov. 3
​12:15-12:45 p.m. Bite-Sized Learning Lunch Easterlin
​7-8 p.m. ​Full-Moon Hike Long Key
​Sat., Nov. 4
7-10 a.m. ​Steps for SOS Kids' 5K ​Tradewinds
​8:30-11 a.m. ​Bird Walk Deerfield Island
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Basic Kayak Class West Lake
​9 a.m.-noon EcoAction Volunteer Workday Fern Forest, Long Key, Miramar Pineland
​10-10:45 a.m. ​Trail Stroll Anne Kolb
​6-7 p.m. ​Night Hike ​Secret Woods
Sat. & Sun, Nov. 4 & 5
​TBA RockFest 80's C.B. Smith
Sun., Nov. 5
​9 a.m. ​PKD Foundation Walk ​​T.Y.
​2-3:30 p.m. ​Family Fun Nature Series: Be a Good Angler! Anne Kolb
​5-7:30 p.m. ​Moonlight Paddle West Lake
Tues., Nov. 7
​10 a.m.-noon ​Nature Tots ​Miramar Pineland
​3:30-5 p.m. ​K2 Nature Kids Miramar Pineland
​5:30-9:30 p.m. Family Night With Food Trucks Plantation Heritage
Wed., Nov. 8
7-9 p.m. ​Florida Native Plant Society Meeting Secret Woods
Thurs., Nov. 9
​10-11 a.m. ​Knee-High Naturalist Long Key
​7:30-9:30 p.m. ​Florida Trail Association Meeting Fern Forest
Fri., Nov. 10
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Highlands Scrub
​Sat., Nov. 11
​9-10:30 a.m. Scrub-a-Dub-Dub Cleanup & Hike Crystal Lake
​9 a.m.-noon ​Mountain Bike Trail Maintenance Day Quiet Waters
​9 a.m.-noon ​EcoAction Volunteer Workday Quiet Waters, Secret Woods
​9:30 a.m.-3 p.m. ​NAMI Broward 5K Walk ​Tradewinds
noon-4 p.m. ​City of Hollywood Mayor's Veterans Day Barbecue ​​T.Y.
6-9 p.m. ​Fantasy of Lights 5K Tradewinds
Sat. & Sun., Nov. 11 & 12
​9 a.m.-9 p.m. ​American College Cricket Southeast Championship Central Broward
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. ​Nature Crafts for Families Long Key
10 a.m.-5:30 p.m. ​Camelot Days Medieval Festival ​​T.Y.
Sun., Nov. 12
​2-4 p.m. ​Music at the Mangrove:
Boogie-Woogie/Ragtime/Honky-Tonk Pianist Kris Nicholson
Anne Kolb
​2-4 p.m. ​Dan Barrow Memorial Bluegrass Jam Fern Forest
6-8 p.m. ​Family Bike Night Through the Lights Tradewinds
​Tues., Nov. 14
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Quiet Waters
​5:30-9:30 p.m. Family Night With Food Trucks Plantation Heritage
Wed., Nov. 15
​5-6 p.m. Sunset Hike Miramar Pineland
​5:30 p.m. ​Parent Camp: Food Safety for a Healthy Holiday Roosevelt Gardens
​8:30-10:30 p.m. ​Bike America Night Ride Quiet Waters
Fri., Nov. 17
​6-7 p.m. Night Hike Highlands Scrub
​6-9 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire ​T.Y.
​7-9:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire Quiet Waters
7-9:30 p.m. ​Teen Social: Western Hoedown (ages 13-25 w/ developmental disabilities) Tree Tops
​7:30-8:30 p.m. Shooting Star Forest Stroll Fern Forest
Fri.-Sun., Nov. 17-19
​3 p.m. check-in Friday
1 p.m. checkout Sunday
​Family Bed & Breakfast Quiet Waters
Sat., Nov. 18
​8 a.m.-2 p.m. ​EcoAction Volunteer Workday Deerfield Island
​8:30 a.m.-noon ​Snake Plant Strike Force Workday Highlands Scrub
​9-11 a.m. ​Science Eye Saturday Safari: Food for Thought...Thoughtful for Finches! Everglades Holiday
​9 a.m.-noon ​EcoAction Volunteer Workday Anne Kolb
​9:30-11:30 a.m. Geocaching Adventure Series Helene Klein
​9:30-11:30 a.m. ​Family Volunteer Day Long Key
​10-11 a.m. ​Saturday Stroll & Learn: Epiphytes Fern Forest
​11 a.m.-3 p.m. ​What Is a Crustacean? Anne Kolb
6:30-7:30 p.m. ​Night Lights Walk Secret Woods
​Sat. & Sun., Nov. 18 & 19
10 a.m.-4 p.m. ​Holiday Festival Tradewinds
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides ​Tradewinds
10 a.m.-5:30 p.m. ​Camelot Days Medieval Festival ​​T.Y.
Sun., Nov. 19
7 a.m.-noon ​Flanigan's Rockin' Rib Run 10K Vista View
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Basic Kayak Class West Lake
​noon-1 p.m. ​Nature Lecture Series: Snakes Fern Forest
2-4 p.m. ​Krafting With Kay Secret Woods
​2:30-4:30 p.m. ​Team/Family Shutterbug Photo Hunt Fern Forest
Mon., Nov. 20
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Paddling EcoTour West Lake
​Tues., Nov. 21
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Easterlin
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots West Lake
11 a.m.-noon ​Investigate It Secret Woods
​5:30-9:30 p.m. Family Night With Food Trucks Plantation Heritage
​Wed., Nov. 22
​5:30-6:30 p.m. ​Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
Thurs.-Sun., Nov. 23-26
​5:30-10 p.m. Chinese Lantern Festival Central Broward
Fri., Nov. 24
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Quiet Waters
Sat., Nov. 25
7-9 a.m. ​Turkey Trot Triathlon/Duathlon Tradewinds
​8 a.m. Fitness Zone Workshop Markham
​9 a.m.-noon ​Mountain Bike Trail Maintenance Day Quiet Waters
​10-11 a.m. ​Shells & Claws Hike Anne Kolb
​2-10 p.m. ​Island Festival Central Broward
Sun., Nov. 26
​10-10:45 a.m. ​Trail Stroll Anne Kolb
​10-11 a.m. ​Guided Nature Hike Long Key
​noon-1 p.m. ​Nature Lecture Series: Spiders & Insects Fern Forest
​noon-1 p.m. ​Super Science Sunday Secret Woods
​1-4 p.m. ​Jamming in the Park Secret Woods
Tues., Nov. 28
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Saw Palmetto
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots Secret Woods
​5:30-9:30 p.m. Family Night With Food Trucks Plantation Heritage
Wed., Nov. 29
​6:30-8:30 a.m. ​Sunrise Paddle West Lake
​10-11 a.m. ​Knee-High Naturalist Long Key
11 a.m.-noon ​Super Science Secret Woods
Thurs., Nov. 30
​5-9:30 p.m. Food Truck Invasion Tradewinds
Thurs.-Sun., Nov. 30-Dec. 3
​5:30-10 p.m. Chinese Lantern Festival Central Broward
DECEMBER 2017
Fri., Dec. 1
​12:15-12:45 p.m. Bite-Sized Learning Lunch Easterlin
​6-7 p.m. ​Night Hike ​Easterlin
Sat., Dec. 2
​8:30-11 a.m. ​Bird Walk Deerfield Island
8:30 a.m.-7:30 p.m. ​Synergy Dragon Boat Races ​​T.Y.
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Basic Kayak Class West Lake
​9 a.m.-noon EcoAction Volunteer Workday Fern Forest, Long Key, Miramar Pineland
Sun., Dec. 3
7:30 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Run-a-Latke Vista View
​noon-1 p.m. ​Nature Lecture Series: Invasive & Exotic Species Fern Forest
2-4 p.m. ​Insectigations Secret Woods
​7-8 p.m. ​Supermoon Hike Long Key
Tues., Dec. 5
​10 a.m.-noon ​Nature Tots Miramar Pineland
​3:30-5 p.m. ​K2 Nature Kids Miramar Pineland
​5:30-9:30 p.m. Family Night With Food Trucks Plantation Heritage
Wed., Dec. 6
​9:30-11 a.m. Polliwogs: Under the Sea Hillsboro Pineland
Thurs., Dec. 7
​11 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Silver Bells ​Franklin
6-8 p.m. ​Friends of Anne Kolb Meeting Anne Kolb
​7:30-9:30 p.m. ​Sierra Club Meeting Fern Forest
Thurs.-Sun., Dec. 7-10
​5:30-10 p.m. ​Chinese Lantern Festival Central Broward
Fri., Dec. 8
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike West Creek Pineland
​7-9:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire Easterlin
​​7:30-8:30 p.m. ​Family Night Hike Fern Forest
Sat., Dec. 9
​8:30 a.m.-noon ​Snake Plant Strike Force Workday Highlands Scrub
​9-10:30 a.m. Scrub-a-Dub-Dub Cleanup & Hike Military Trail
​9 a.m.-noon ​Mountain Bike Trail Maintenance Day Quiet Waters
​9 a.m.-noon EcoAction Volunteer Workday Quiet Waters, Secret Woods
​11 a.m.-3 p.m. ​Nature Crafts Anne Kolb
​2-4 p.m. ​Dan Barrow Memorial Bluegrass Jam Fern Forest
​2-10 p.m. ​Laughter in the Gardens Comedy Event Central Broward
Sat. & Sun., Dec. 9 & 10
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Crafts for Kids Long Key
Sun., Dec. 10
2-4 p.m. ​Music at the Mangrove:
Grabowski Trio Jazz Concert
Anne Kolb
​Tues., Dec. 12
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Quiet Waters
9 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Tandem Bike Ride (blind or visually impaired) Tradewinds
​5:30-9:30 p.m. Family Night With Food Trucks Plantation Heritage
Wed., Dec. 13
7-9 p.m. ​Florida Native Plant Society Meeting Secret Woods
Thurs., Dec. 14
​10-11 a.m. ​Knee-High Naturalist Long Key
​7:30-9:30 p.m. ​Florida Trail Association Meeting Fern Forest
Thurs.-Sun., Dec. 14-17
​5:30-10 p.m. Chinese Lantern Festival Central Broward
​Fri., Dec. 15
​6-7 p.m. ​Night Hike Crystal Lake
​6-9 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire ​T.Y.
​7-9 p.m. ​An Evening With the Stars Astronomy Series Fern Forest
​7-9:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire Quiet Waters
Fri.-Sun., Dec. 15-17
​3 p.m. check-in Friday
1 p.m. checkout Sunday
​Family Bed & Breakfast Quiet Waters
Sat., Dec. 16
​8 a.m.-2 p.m. ​EcoAction Volunteer Workday Deerfield Island
​9-11 a.m. ​Science Eye Saturday Safari: Hand-Held Holiday Lights Everglades Holiday
​9 a.m.-noon ​EcoAction Volunteer Workday Anne Kolb
​9:30-11:30 a.m. Geocaching Adventure Series Saw Palmetto
​10-10:45 a.m. ​Trail Stroll Anne Kolb
10 a.m.-noon ​Webelos Workshop: Earth Rocks Secret Woods
​11 a.m.-2 p.m. ​Winter Moneyland Roosevelt Gardens
Sat. & Sun., Dec. 16 & 17
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
Sun., Dec. 17
2:30-4 p.m. ​Visit With Santa Miramar Pineland
​2:30-4:30 p.m. ​Team/Family Shutterbug Photo Hunt Fern Forest
​5-7 p.m. ​Twilight Jammin' Fern Forest
Mon., Dec. 18
​6:30-8:30 a.m. ​Sunrise Paddle West Lake
Tues., Dec. 19
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Easterlin
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Paddling EcoTour West Lake
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots West Lake
11 a.m.-noon ​Investigate It Secret Woods
​5:30-9:30 p.m. Family Night With Food Trucks Plantation Heritage
​Wed., Dec. 20
​5-6 p.m. ​Sunset Hike Miramar Pineland
​8:30-10:30 p.m. ​Bike America Night Ride Quiet Waters
Thurs.-Sun., Dec. 21-24
​5:30-10 p.m. Chinese Lantern Festival Central Broward
Fri., Dec. 22
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Quiet Waters
​Sat., Dec. 23
​8 a.m. Fitness Zone Workshop Markham
​9 a.m.-noon ​Mountain Bike Trail Maintenance Day Quiet Waters
Sun., Dec. 24
​noon-1 p.m. ​Super Science Sunday Secret Woods
​1-4 p.m. ​Jamming in the Park Secret Woods
Tues., Dec. 26
​9-10 a.m. ​Guided Hike Helene Klein
​5:30-9:30 p.m. Family Night With Food Trucks Plantation Heritage
​Wed., Dec. 27
​10-11 a.m. ​Knee-High Naturalist Long Key
11 a.m.-noon ​Super Science Secret Woods
​5:30-6:30 p.m. Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
​Thurs., Dec. 28
​2-2:30 p.m. ​Aquarium: Behind the Scenes Anne Kolb
​5-9:30 p.m. ​Food Truck Invasion Tradewinds
Thurs.-Sun., Dec. 28-31
​5:30-10 p.m. Chinese Lantern Festival Central Broward
Fri., Dec. 29
​2-3 p.m. ​Mangrove Adventure Hike Anne Kolb
Sat., Dec. 30
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Basic Kayak Class West Lake
Sun., Dec. 31
​10-11 a.m. ​Guided Nature Hike Long Key
JANUARY 2018
Thurs.-Sun., Jan. 4-7
​5:30-10 p.m. Chinese Lantern Festival Central Broward
Fri., Jan. 5
​7-9:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire ​Delevoe
Wed., Jan. 10
​5:30-6:30 p.m. ​Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
Thurs.-Sun., Jan. 11-14
​5:30-10 p.m. Chinese Lantern Festival Central Broward
Fri., Jan. 12
​noon-2 p.m. ​Lunch-and-Learn Nature Series for Adults: Sea Turtle Research, Conservation, and Protection Anne Kolb
​7-7:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire Tradewinds
Sun., Jan. 14
​2-3:30 p.m. ​Family Fun Nature Series: Art & Nature Anne Kolb
Wed., Jan. 17
​5:30 p.m. ​Parent Camp: Creative Ways to Increase Academic Success Franklin
Fri., Jan. 19
​6-9 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire T.Y.
7-9:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire Quiet Waters
Fri.-Sun., Jan. 19-21
​​3 p.m. check-in Friday
1 p.m. checkout Sunday
​Family Bed & Breakfast ​​Quiet Waters
Fri., Jan. 26
​7-9:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire Tradewinds
FEBRUARY 2018
Fri., Feb. 2
​7-9:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire Easterlin
Wed., Feb. 7
​5:30 p.m. ​Parent Camp: Decoding Your Child's Report Card (Part 2) Delevoe
​5:30-6:30 p.m. ​Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
Fri., Feb. 9
​noon-2 p.m. ​Lunch-and-Learn Nature Series for Adults: Respecting Honeybees Anne Kolb
​7-9:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire ​​Tradewinds
Sat.-Mon.., Feb. 10-12
​10 a.m.-sunset Renaissance Festival ​Quiet Waters
Wed., Feb. 14
​5:30-6:30 p.m. ​Valentine's Sunset Hike for Couples Miramar Pineland
Fri., Feb. 16
​6-9 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire ​T.Y.
​Sat.-Mon., Feb. 17-19
​10 a.m.-sunset Renaissance Festival Quiet Waters
Wed., Feb. 21
​5:30 p.m. ​Parent Camp: Dealing With Stress, Nurturing Parenting Lafayette Hart
Fri., Feb. 23
​7-9:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire ​​Tradewinds
Sat. & Sun., Feb. 24 & 25
​10 a.m.-sunset Renaissance Festival Quiet Waters
MARCH 2018
​Sat. & Sun., Mar. 3 & 4
​10 a.m.-sunset Renaissance Festival ​Quiet Waters
Wed., Mar. 7
​5:30 p.m. ​Parent Camp: Healthy Minds, Healthy Kids Boulevard Gardens
​6-7 p.m. ​Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
Fri., Mar. 9
​7-9:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire ​​Tradewinds
​Sat. & Sun., Mar. 10 & 11
​10 a.m.-sunset Renaissance Festival Quiet Waters
Wed., Mar. 14
​7-8 p.m. ​Sunset Hike Miramar Pineland
Fri., Mar. 16
​noon-2 p.m. ​Lunch-and-Learn Nature Series for Adults: Conservation and Research at Zoo Miami Anne Kolb
​7-9:30 p.m. Family Hayride & Campfire Delevoe
​Sat. & Sun., Mar. 17 & 18
​10 a.m.-sunset Renaissance Festival ​Quiet Waters
Wed., Mar. 21
​5:30 p.m. ​Parent Camp: Positive Discipline Strategies Roosevelt Gardens
​Sat. & Sun., Mar. 24 & 25
​10 a.m.-sunset Renaissance Festival Quiet Waters
APRIL 2018
Wed., Apr. 4
​7-8 p.m. ​Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
MAY 2018
Wed., May 2
​5:30 p.m. ​Parent Camp: Summer Slide & Safety Roosevelt Gardens
Wed., May 16
​5:30 p.m. ​Parent Camp Graduation Franklin
OCTOBER 2018
Wed., Oct. 3
​7-8 p.m. ​Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
NOVEMBER 2018
Wed., Nov. 7
​6-7 p.m. ​Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
Wed., Nov. 14
​5:30-6:30 p.m. ​Sunset Hike Miramar Pineland
DECEMBER 2018
Wed., Dec. 5
​6-7 p.m. ​Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
Wed., Dec. 12
​5-6 p.m. ​Sunset Hike Miramar Pineland
 
 
 
Individuals with disabilities requiring accommodations in order to participate in programs, services, and activities must contact the Special Populations Section at 954-357-8170 or TTY 954-537-2844 at least five business days prior to the scheduled meeting or event.