Calendar of Events

CALENDAR OF EVENTS
Some parks have their own Monthly or Quarterly Calendar pages. Consult these pages and the monthly Highlights and Nearby Nature newsletters for additional information.

Effective March 1, 2013, Florida sales tax is applicable to most fees. The parks' regular weekend and holiday gate entrance fee of $1.50/person (children 5 and under free) is not affected.

Call the park of your choice to confirm fees and registration requirements - preregistration is required for many programs and may be available through our Register Online system.

Date/Time Activity  Park
​Tues.
​5:30-6:30 p.m. ​Zumba ​T.Y.
​Thurs.
​10:30-11:30 a.m. ​Zumba West Lake
​Sat.
​Dusk-Midnight Fox Observatory Opens to Public ​Markham
Sun.
​11 a.m.-2:30 p.m. ​South Florida Model Sailing Club ​​C.B. Smith
APRIL 2016
Sat., Apr. 30
​7 a.m. ​Father O'Reilly 5K Run ​Vista View
​10 a.m.-5 p.m. ​PigOut 'n Deerfield Quiet Waters
MAY 2016
Sun., May 1
​8 a.m. ​Bird Walk Tall Cypress
​noon-1 p.m. ​Nature Lecture Series:
Dangerous Plants, Animals, & Insects
​​Fern Forest
​noon-1 p.m. ​Super Science Sunday (ages 7-12) Secret Woods
​3-5 p.m. ​Harp Society Annual Recital Anne Kolb
​Mon., May 2
​9:30 a.m. ​Registration starts for Learn to Swim Program ​C.B. Smith, Central Broward, T.Y.
Wed., May 4
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Beaks & Bills (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
Thurs., May 5
​5-10 p.m. ​Food Truck Invasion Quiet Waters
Fri., May 6
​7:30 a.m. ​Parks Advisory Board Meeting Long Key
​9 a.m.-3 p.m. ​Walk Aware Reverend Samuel Delevoe
Sat., May 7
​Call for times ​Florida Initiative for Suicide Prevention 5K Markham
​7 a.m.-1 p.m. BiG Cardio Central Broward
​8:30-10:30 a.m. ​Bird Walk (ages 8+) Deerfield Island
9-11:30 a.m. ​Basic Kayak Class West Lake
​10-10:45 a.m. ​Trail Stroll Anne Kolb
Sat., May 14
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Paddling EcoTour West Lake
​10-11 a.m. ​Off-Trail Hike Long Key
Sun., May 15
​2:30-4:30 p.m. ​Team/Family Shutterbug Photo Hunt Fern Forest
Tues., May 17
10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots (ages 2-4) West Lake
Wed., May 18
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Broward Nature Book Club:
The Old Man and the Sea
Deerfield Island
​7-8:30 p.m. ​Sunset Nature Walk: Flowers Miramar Pineland
Thurs., May 19
​5-9:30 p.m. ​Food Truck Invasion Brian Piccolo
​5-10 p.m. ​Food Truck Invasion Quiet Waters
Fri., May 20
​7-9:30 p.m. ​Teen Social: Hawaiian Luau
(ages 13-22 w/ developmental disabilities)
Fern Forest
​7:30-9:30 p.m. ​Moonlight Paddle West Lake
Sat., May 21
​8-9 p.m. Once-in-a-Blue-Moon Hike Long Key
​9-11 a.m. Science Eye Nature Program:
Pretty Plants Pressed for Picture Preservation
Everglades Holiday
​10 a.m. ​Tandem Leisure Bicycle Ride
(ages 18+ blind or visually impaired)
​Tradewinds
​1 p.m. ​Plankton-a-Plenty Hike Anne Kolb
Sat. & Sun., May 21 & 22
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
Sun., May 22
​First light-1 p.m. ​18th Annual Junior Bass Fishing Tournament Quiet Waters
​10-10:45 a.m. ​Trail Stroll Anne Kolb
​10 a.m.-10 p.m. ​Haitian Flag Day Central Broward Regional
Sun., May 29
​10-11 a.m. ​Guided Nature Hike Long Key
JUNE 2016
Fri., June 3
​8-9 p.m. New-Moon Hike Long Key
Sat., June 4
​6-10 a.m. ​Junior Bass Fishing Tournament ​Tradewinds
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Basic Kayak Class West Lake
​noon-5 p.m. ​Slide the City Vista View
​8-9 p.m. ​New-Moon Hike Pine Island Ridge
Sun., June 5
​8 a.m. ​Bird Walk Tall Cypress
​1-5 p.m. ​Music Club of Hollywood Student Recital Anne Kolb
Mon.-Thurs., June 6-9
​8:30 a.m. or 12:30 p.m. Junior Farmers Camp (ages 5-8) ​Tradewinds
​8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. ​Trailblazers Horse Camp (ages 9-16) Tradewinds
Fri., June 10
​10 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Fun Friday Long Key
​6-10 p.m. ​Superhero Splash Bash Quiet Waters
​7-9:30 p.m. Friday Night Social
(ages 18+ living w/ mental illness)
Tree Tops
Sat., June 11
​9 a.m.-2 p.m. Low-Cost Pet Rabies Clinics Plantation Heritage
​10 a.m. ​Mangrove Adventure Hike Anne Kolb
​2-10 p.m. ​New Generation Gospel Concert Central Broward Regional
Sun., June 12
​10-11 a.m. ​Off-Trail Hike Long Key
Mon.-Thurs., June 13-16
8:30 a.m. or 12:30 p.m. Junior Farmers Camp (ages 5-8) ​Tradewinds
​8:30 a.m.- 4 p.m. Trailblazers Horse Camp (ages 9-16) ​Tradewinds
​Fri., June 17
​9-11:30 a.m. ​Paddling EcoTour West Lake
​6-8 p.m. ​Family Fun Night ​T.Y.
​7:30-9 p.m. ​An Evening With the Stars Astonomy Program ​Fern Forest
Sat., June 18
​9-11 a.m. Science Eye Nature Program:
Telling Time With a Sundial
Everglades Holiday
​8-10 p.m. ​Moonlight Paddle West Lake
Sat. & Sun., June 18 & 19
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
Sun., June 19
​10-10:45 a.m. ​Trail Stroll Anne Kolb
​Mon.-Thurs., June 20-23
8:30 a.m. or 12:30 p.m. Junior Farmers Camp (ages 5-8) ​Tradewinds
​8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. Trailblazers Horse Camp (ages 9-16) ​Tradewinds
​Mon.-Fri., June 20-24
​9 a.m.-noon Nature Detectives Summer Camp (ages 8-11) Fern Forest
Tues., June 21
​10-11 a.m. ​Nature Tots (ages 2-4) ​West Lake
Fri., June 24
​6-10 p.m. ​Superhero Splash Bash Quiet Waters
Sat., June 26
​10-11 a.m. ​Guided Nature Hike Long Key
​Mon.-Thurs., June 27-30
8:30 a.m. or 12:30 p.m. ​Junior Farmers Camp (ages 5-8) ​Tradewinds
​8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. Trailblazers Horse Camp (ages 9-16) Tradewinds
Mon.-Fri., June 27-July 15
​9 a.m.-5 p.m. ​FC Barcelona Soccer Camp Central Broward Regional
JULY 2016 PARKS AND RECREATION MONTH
Wednesdays & Fridays
​8 p.m. ​Sea Turtles & Their Babies Anne Kolb
Mon., July 4
​7:30-10 p.m. ​Fireworks Viewing ​​Vista View
Fri., July 8
​6-10 p.m. ​Superhero Splash Bash Quiet Waters
Sat., July 9
​10 a.m. ​Fish Printing Fun Anne Kolb
Mon.-Thurs., July 11-14
​8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. Horsemasters Horse Camp (ages 9-16) Tradewinds
Fri., July 15
​6-8 p.m. ​Family Fun Night ​T.Y.
Sat., July 16
​9-11 a.m. ​​Science Eye Nature Program:
Florida Skunk Ape
Everglades Holiday
Sat. & Sun., July 16 & 17
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
Mon.-Thurs., July 18-21
​8:30 a.m-4 p.m. Horsemasters Horse Camp (ages 9-16) Tradewinds
Tues., July 19
​8 p.m. Night Hike Secret Woods
Thurs., July 21
​6:30 p.m. ​Broward Star Time Talent Showcase Parker Playhouse
Fri., July 22
​6-10 p.m. ​Superhero Splash Bash Quiet Waters
​8 p.m. Nature at Night Hike Long Key
Thurs.-Sun., July 28-31
​Varies 2016 HERO Caribbean Premier League (Cricket) Central Broward Stadium
Sat., July 30
​10 a.m.-2 p.m. ​Tandem Leisure Ride
(ages 18+ blind or visually impaired)
Tradewinds
AUGUST 2016
Wednesdays & Fridays
​8 p.m. ​Sea Turtles & Their Babies Anne Kolb
​Mon.-Thurs., Aug. 1-4
​8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. Horsemasters Horse Camp (ages 9-16) ​Tradewinds
Mon.-Fri., Aug. 1-5
​9 a.m. -noon Nature Detectives Summer Camp (ages 8-11) Fern Forest
Fri., Aug. 5
​7:30 a.m. ​Parks Advisory Board Meeting Tree Tops
​6-10 p.m. ​Superhero Splash Bash Quiet Waters
​Mon.-Thurs., Aug. 8-11
​8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. Horsemasters Horse Camp (ages 9-16) ​Tradewinds
Sat., Aug. 13
​9 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Go Native Plant Sale ​Secret Woods
​10 a.m. ​Shells & Claws Hike Anne Kolb
Fri., Aug. 19
​6-8 p.m. ​Family Fun Night ​T.Y.
​7-9:30 p.m. Teen Social: Back-to-School Dance
(ages 13-22 w/ developmental disabilities)
Sunrise Civic Center
​8 p.m. Full-Moon Hike Long Key
Sat., Aug. 20
​9-11 a.m. Science Eye Nature Program:
Deep-Sea Divers
Everglades Holiday
Sat. & Sun., Aug. 20 & 21
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
SEPTEMBER 2016
Wed., Sept. 7
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Walk, Waddle, Wiggle (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
Fri., Sept. 16
​7:30-9 p.m. ​An Evening With the Stars Astronomy Program Fern Forest
​7:30 p.m. Night Hike by the Seashore Hollywood North Beach
​8 p.m. Full-Moon Hike Long Key
Sat., Sept. 17
​9-11 a.m. Science Eye Nature Program:
Astounding Eclipses & Phases of the Moon
Everglades Holiday
Sat. & Sun., Sept. 17 & 18
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
Sat., Sept. 24
​9 a.m.-noon ​Survivor Island Deerfield Island
​9 a.m.-1 p.m. ​Fall Into Foliage Native Plant Sale Fern Forest
​11 a.m.-3 p.m. ​Estuary Day Anne Kolb
​7-9:30 p.m. Friday Night Social
(ages 18+ living w/ mental illness)
Tree Tops
OCTOBER 2016
Sat., Oct. 1
​9 a.m.-2 p.m. Low-Cost Pet Rabies Clinic T.Y.
Wed., Oct. 5
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Not-So-Scary Halloween (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
Fri., Oct. 7
​7:30 a.m. ​Parks Advisory Board Meeting Plantation Heritage
Sat. & Sun., Oct. 8 & 9
​9 a.m.-3 p.m. ​Barktoberfest Quiet Waters
Sat., Oct. 15
​9-11 a.m. ​​Science Eye Nature Program:
Watch the Hand
Everglades Holiday
​9 a.m.-noon ​Big 20th Anniversary Cleanup Anne Kolb
Sat. & Sun., Oct. 15 & 16
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
Wed., Oct. 19
​8-9 p.m. Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
Fri.-Sun., Oct. 21-23
​check-in: 3 p.m. Fri.
checkout: 1 p.m. Sun.
​Bed & Breakfast Quiet Waters
​Sat., Oct. 22
​9 a.m.-noon ​Survivor Island Deerfield Island
Fri., Oct. 28
​6:30-9 p.m. ​Trunk or Treat Quiet Waters
Sat., Oct. 29
​7:30 p.m. Dark and Spooky Forest Stroll Fern Forest
​NOVEMBER 2016
Wed., Nov. 2
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Hide & Seek (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
Thurs., Nov. 10
​6-7 p.m. Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
Sat., Nov. 12
​10 a.m.-2 p.m. Go Native Plant Sale Quiet Waters
Sun., Nov. 13
​2-5 p.m. ​20th Anniversary Silent Auction & Music Celebration Anne Kolb
Mon., Nov. 14
​5:30 p.m. Night Hike Secret Woods
​7 p.m. Supermoon Hike Long Key
Fri., Nov. 18
​7-9:30 p.m. Teen Social: Western Hoedown
(ages 13-22 w/ developmental disabilities)
Tree Tops
​7:30 p.m. Shooting Star Forest Stroll Fern Forest
Fri.-Sun., Nov. 18-20
​check-in: 3 p.m. Fri.
checkout: 1 p.m. Sun.
​Bed & Breakfast Quiet Waters
Sat., Nov. 19
​9-11 a.m. ​​Science Eye Nature Program:
Food for Thought...Thoughtful for Finches
Everglades Holiday
Sat. & Sun., Nov. 19 & 20
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
Sun., Nov. 20
​noon ​Nature Lecture Series: Snakes ​​Fern Forest
Wed., Nov. 23
​5 p.m. ​Sunset Nature Walk Miramar Pineland
​Sat., Nov. 26
​9 a.m.-noon ​Survivor Island ​Deerfield Island
Sun., Nov. 27
​noon ​Nature Lecture Series: Spiders ​​Fern Forest
DECEMBER 2016
Fri., Dec. 2
​7:30 a.m. ​Parks Advisory Board Meeting ​Secret Woods
Sun., Dec. 4
​noon ​Nature Lecture Series:
Dangerous Plants, Animals, & Insects
​​Fern Forest
Wed., Dec. 7
​9:30-11 a.m. ​Polliwogs: Under the Sea (ages 3-5) Hillsboro Pineland
Sat., Dec. 10
​6 a.m. BattleFrog Obstacle Race Series C.B. Smith
Fri.-Sun., Dec. 9-11
​check-in: 3 p.m. Fri.
checkout: 1 p.m. Sun.
​Bed & Breakfast Quiet Waters
Tues., Dec. 13
​7 p.m. Supermoon Hike Long Key
Fri., Dec. 16
​7:30-9 p.m. ​An Evening With the Stars Astronomy Program ​Fern Forest
Sat., Dec. 17
​9-11 a.m. ​​Science Eye Nature Program:
Hand-Held Holiday Lights
Everglades Holiday
​9 a.m.-noon ​Survivor Island Deerfield Island
Sat. & Sun., Dec. 17 & 18
​10 a.m.-4 p.m. Model Steam Train Rides Tradewinds
Wed., Dec. 28
​6-7 p.m. Pineland at Night Hike Miramar Pineland
JANUARY 2017
Fri.-Sun., Jan. 20-22
​​check-in: 3 p.m. Fri.
checkout: 1 p.m. Sun.
​Bed & Breakfast Quiet Waters

 

 

ALL INFORMATION SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE.

Individuals with disabilities requiring accommodations in order to participate in programs, services, and activities must contact the Special Populations Section at 954-357-8170 or TTY 954-537-2844 at least five business days prior to the scheduled meeting or event.