October-November-December 2014

Activity Date & Time
EcoAction Day Volunteer Workdays ​Sat., Oct. 4, Nov. 1, Dec. 6, 9 a.m.-noon
Nature Crafts for Kids ​Sat., Oct. 4, Dec. 13, 10 a.m.-1 p.m.
North American Butterfly Association Fall Butterfly Count ​Sun., Oct. 5, 9-11:30 a.m.
Preschool Play 'n' Learn Thursdays, Oct. 9, Nov. 13, Dec. 11, 10-11 a.m.
Monsters of Nature ​Sat., Oct. 11 & Sun., Oct. 12,
10 a.m.-1 p.m.
Things That Go Bump in the Night Hike

Fri., Oct. 17, 7-8 p.m.

Trick-or-Treat Through the Trees ​Fri., Oct. 24 & Sat., Oct. 25,
6-9 p.m.
Make a Difference Day Volunteer Workday Sun., Oct. 26, 9:30-11:30 a.m.
Guided Nature Hike Sun., Oct. 26, Nov. 30, Dec. 28, 10-11 a.m.
Knee-High Naturalist Wed., Oct. 29, Nov. 26, 10-11 a.m.
Full Moon Hikes ​Fri., Nov. 7, Dec. 5, 6-7 p.m.
Off-Trail Hike Sat., Nov. 8, 10-11 a.m.
Nature Crafts for Families ​Sat.-Tues., Nov. 8-11,
10 a.m.-1 p.m.
Family Volunteer Day ​Sat., Nov. 22, 9:30-11:30 a.m.
Fun Friday Nature ​Fri., Dec. 19, 10 a.m.-1 p.m.
Celebrate Solstice Family Night ​Sat., Dec. 20, 10-11 a.m.



 

 

 
Most programs require preregistration.
Check with the park office to confirm.

 

Long Key Nature Center

entrance to Long Key Nature Center 

trail at Long Key Nature Center

Preschool Play 'n' Learn - Preschool children ages 4 and 5 explore the natural world while learning nature-based lessons. Program may include games, hands-on activities, crafts, storytelling, songs, and a nature walk or an animal encounter. There is a different theme every month. Preregistration is required by the day before the program.

EcoAction Days - First Saturday of the month, October-May, 9 a.m.-noon. For ages 13 and up. Volunteers clean up trash, plant native plants, and/or remove non-native invasive plants. Students can arn community service hours for graduation and college scholarships, and others can help improve and preserve the environment. Participants should dress appropriately with long sleeves, long pants, and closed-toe shoes that can get dirty. Participants should also bring gloves, a hat, sunscreen, insect repellent, and drinking water. Extra tools such as shovels, rakes, and hand pruners are welcome. Volunteers must fill out an application before participating.