Notice of Commencement

In accordance with Section 713.13 (1) (h) of the Florida Statutes, a Notice of Commencement is required for the construction of, improvements to, alteration of or repair of real property. The Notice of Commencement must be recorded with Broward County Records, Taxes and Treasury Division, or in the office of the clerk where the real property is located.

E-Recording or In-Person Recording a Notice of Commencement

  1. Complete the Notice of Commencement Form.
    • All information must be typewritten or legibly printed.
    • Lines 1, 2 and 3 must always be filled in. Items 4 through 9 are completed as applicable. For lengthy legal descriptions, attach a separate page and indicate on the form that the legal description is attached.
    • If line 5 applies, a copy of the Payment Bond must be attached to the instrument when it is recorded.
    • Be sure to read the Warning to Owner. The owner (of the property) must sign in two places on the Notice of Commencement, or the Owner’s Authorized Officer/Director/Partner/Manager.
    • The owner or the person who signed must also sign under the Verification Pursuant to Section 92.525 of the Florida Statues, indicating that they have read the foregoing instrument and declare that the facts stated in it are true. At the bottom of the form please type or print the name and address of the party to whom the recorded Notice is to be returned.
  2. The owner or person who signed must appear with the completed form before a Notary Public, who must complete the acknowledgment portion of the form and affix his or her seal. You can get the form notarized at the offices of the Broward County Records, Taxes and Treasury Division. The owner must appear in person, and present official photo ID, such as a current driver's license or other current government-issued photo identification, to the Notary. The fee is $10 per acknowledgement.
  3. To calculate recording fees due, count the total number of pages in the document. The fee is $10 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page of the same document. If you require a certified copy to post on the job site, include an additional $1 for each page of the document and $2 for certification of each document. If you are unsure of the fees and wish to record your document in person, wait until you get to the recording office to complete your check. If you need the certified copy right away, you should go in person to the recording office. If you mail in your Notice of Commencement, please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope for the return of your recorded documents.
  4. Make checks payable to "Board of County Commissioners."
  5. Electronically record the documents within minutes at:

    Governmental Center West
    1 N. University Drive
    Plantation, FL 33324

    Notice of Commencement Services are available Monday through Friday from 8AM to 1PM and 2 to 4PM.

    Or mail to:

    Broward County Records, Taxes and Treasury Division
    ATTN: Recording Section
    P.O. Box 14668
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33302

    Or deliver in person to either our Fort Lauderdale or Plantation location:

  6. Broward County Records, Taxes and Treasury Division
    Broward County Governmental Center Room 114
    115 S. Andrews Ave.
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
    Open Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Terminating a Notice of Commencement

An owner may terminate the period of effectiveness of a Notice of Commencement, after completion of construction, or after construction ceases before completion and all contractors and sub-contractor’s (lienors) have been paid, by filing a Notice of Termination of Notice of Commencement.