share   tweet

 Solid Waste Disposal District

  

General Information

Full legal name: Broward Solid Waste Disposal District

Public purpose: The District shall have any and all powers authorized by Section 125.01, Florida Statutes and Section 403.706, Florida Statutes, and in addition may provide for solid waste disposal and recycling

Service area: Those municipalities within Broward County which may elect or may have previously elected to join the District, and the Broward Municipal Services District (unincorporated) area of the County

Services provided: This District currently provides no services

Creation document: Originally, Ordinance No. 87-3, adopted March 10, 1987, Amended by Ordinance No. 2013-26, adopted June 11, 2013 Statute under which District operates: Sections 125.01 and 403.706, Florida Statutes

Date established: March 19, 1987

Establishing entity: Broward County Board of County Commissioners

Contact Information

Mailinga ddress: 1 North University Drive, Suite 400, Plantation, FL 33324.

Website Address: wastedistrict.broward.org

E-mail: recycle&recover@broward.org

Telephone number: 954/765-4999

Registered agent: Jeff Turpin, Interim Director, Broward County Solid Waste and Recycling Services

Governing body: Broward County Board of County Commissioners

115 South Andrews Avenue, Room 421, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-1872

Telephone: 954-357-7000

Member

Current Term E-mail address
Mark D. Bogen Jan. 2015 – Nov. 2018 mbogen@broward.org
Beam Furr Nov. 2014 – Nov. 2018 bfurr@broward.org
Steve Geller Nov. 2016 – Nov. 2020 sgeller@broward.org
Dale V.C. Holness​​ Nov. 2012 – Nov. 2020 dholness@broward.org
Chip LaMarca Nov. 2014 – Nov. 2018 clamarca@broward.org
Nan Rich Nov. 2016 – Nov. 2020 nrich@broward.org
Tim Ryan Nov. 2012 – Nov. 2020 tryan@broward.org
Barbara Sharief Nov. 2014 – Nov. 2018 bsharief@broward.org
Michael Udine Nov. 2016 – Nov. 2020 mudine@broward.org

Revenue information: This District currently has no budgeted revenue. It imposes no taxes, fees, assessments, or charges 

General financial information: As of October 1, 2015, this District has no adopted or tentative budget, and no assets or liabilities

Ethics: Section 119 of the Broward County Code of Ordinance​