Teachers Inspire Students through NatureScape Broward

NatureScape Broward recently completed a National Wildlife Federation Habitat Steward training for Broward County Public School teachers. Habitat Stewards are individuals with a keen interest in the environment and a willingness to volunteer their time and expertise to help others create or restore wildlife habitat.

Teachers have the unique opportunity to inspire hundreds of students, connecting them to nature through a hands-on curriculum, including campus ecology and active environmental stewardship.

To date, 141 Broward teachers have taken the training which included field trips to Broward County parks and natural areas, Plantation Preserve Linear Trail, and a visit to Flamingo Gardens Wildlife Sanctuary. Presentations were made by environmental speakers from Everglades National Park, Nova Southeastern University Oceanographic Center, Florida Sea Grant Program and Broward County Environmental Protection and Growth Management Department. One of the most popular activities was the Educator’s Environmental Showcase, which featured exhibits and speakers from local agencies and organizations that are available to provide program outreach to schools.

NatureScape Broward is a program of the County's Natural Resources Planning and Management Division. In addition to training, NatureScape Broward:

Habitat Group
For more information on NatureScape Broward, or to sign up your school to participate in the National Wildlife Federation Habitat Steward training, call Diana Guidry at 954-519-0317 or visit broward.org/naturalresources and click NATURESCAPE BROWARD. 

Photo at Right: Back Row, left to right: Justin Butler, William Perez, Natalia Daniels-Castro, Maena Angelotti, Kimberly Mayo, Lisa Murphy, Patricia Ritter, Nancy DeLucia, Kathryn Carmillucci-McCullough, Diana Guidry and Viola Hanson Middle Row, left to right: Ebony Valentine, Jacqueline Wholey, Kim Gilliam, Margaret McLeod and Andrea Perez Front Row, left to right: Christina Hung, Elayne Hollander, Lindsey Arcularius, Victor Suarez, Myrielle Badia and Lisa Schuurmans