share   tweet 311
Climate Change Task Force

develop a county-wide Climate Change Program to mitigate the causes and adapt to the consequences of climate change; and, if appropriate, advise on its implementation; and coordinate with the Board of County Commissioners, the School Board, municipalities, organizations, and the State of Florida in adoption of programs to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in a cost-effective and efficient manner that preserves the County’s competitiveness in the national and world economy.

Created By

Broward County Resolution #2008-442, adopted June 24, 2008.

Amended by Resolution #2008-616, adopted September 16, 2008, providing for the inapplicability of the residency requirements of Broward County Code of Ordinances, Section 1-233;  increasing the number of at-large members from two to five;  providing that vacancies be filled at-large by the Broward County Commission with proper consideration for maintaining the original balance of categorical representations.

The Broward County Climate Change Task Force completed work on and approved the“Broward Climate Change Action Plan –Addressing our Changing Climate” (pdf) at their March 18, 2010 meeting. The Action Plan was developed in fulfillment of the Broward County Board of County Commissioners’ charge to the Task Force to develop recommendations for a countywide climate program designed to mitigate the causes of and adapt to the consequences of climate change. The Board approved  the Action Plan on May 4, 2010.


Twenty (20) members shall be appointed by the Broward County Board of County Commissioners and consist of the following categorical representations:

  • Three (3) members representing Broward County government who shall be identified by position by the Broward County Board of County Commissioners, of which one shall be identified by the Board of County Commissioners to serve as Chair; and
  • Two (2) members appointed at-large by the Broward County Commission to four (4) year terms.
  • One (1) member representing the Broward County Water Advisory Board;
  • One (1) member representing a Hospital District in Broward County;
  • One (1) member representing an academic institution;
  • One (1) member representing a Hospital District in Broward County;
  • One (1) member representing the Broward Sheriff’s Office;
  • One (1) member representing an environmental organization or interest group in Broward County;
  • One (1) member representing Florida Power & Light Company 
  • One (1) member representing a regional business forum in Broward County ;
  • One (1) member representing a financial institution operating in Broward County;
  • One (1) member representing the Florida Department of Transportation;
  • One (1) member representing the South Florida Regional Planning Council;
  • One (1) member representing the Urban League of Broward County;
  • One (1) member representing the United States Geological Survey;
  • One (1) member representing for engineering, management, and operations of a more than 100,000 square foot facility in Broward County;
  • One (1) member that is a real estate developer or property manager with holdings or responsibilities in Broward County exceeding $10 million in fair market value; and
  • One (1) member that is a local foundation member or grantor for projects exceeding $25,000 with focus areas of climate resilience and sustainability.

Five (5) members and one (1) alternate for each member shall be appointed by the following appointing authorities within the following categories:

  • One (1) School Board member and one (1) alternate appointed by the School Board of Broward County;
  • One (1) Governing Board member and one (1) alternated appointed by the South Florida Water Management District; and
  • Three (3) elected municipal officials and three (3) alternates appointed by the Broward League of Cities with one member (and one alternate) representing each of the eastern, central, and western geographical aras of Broward County, and the members (and alternates) representing both large and small municipalities.


Section 1-233 of Chapter 1, Article XII, Broward County Code of Ordinances, as may be amended from time to time.

The residency requirements of subsection 1-233(c)(1) shall not be applicable so that the members of the task force are not required to be residents of Broward County or maintain residency during the term of appointment to the task force. 


A majority of the total appointed board members.


Michael Owens, Senior Assistant County Attorney


Jennifer Jurado, Ph.D., Director
Natural Resources Planning & Management Division


Allison Jirout
Energy and Sustainability Program


Quarterly, 3rd Thursday, 1:30 p.m.
(February, May, August, November)
Broward County Governmental Center East
Room 430
Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33301

Financial Disclosure not required.
Updated 06/05/19​​​​​​