South Florida Regional Council


The Council's mission is to identify the long-term challenges and opportunities facing Southeast Florida and assist the Region's leaders in developing and implementing creative strategies that result in more prosperous and equitable communities, a healthier and cleaner environment, and a more vibrant economy.

The Council is a planning and public policy agency. Activities respond to statutory requirements as well as the needs of member units of local government. The policy document that guides all of the Council's activities is the Strategic Regional Policy Plan for South Florida.

Created By

Pursuant to Chapters 23,120,163,186, 380, and 403, Florida Statutes.

Interlocal Agreement by and between the counties of Broward, Miami-Dade, and Monroe; recorded in the Public Records of each County in 1993.


Nineteen (19) members.

(1) Three (3) members appointed by the Broward County Commission.

Three (3) members appointed by the Miami-Dade County Commission.

Two (2) members appointed by the Monroe County Commission.

(2) Two (2) elected municipal officials appointed by the Broward League of Cities.

Two (2) elected municipal officials appointed from Miami-Dade County.

One (1) elected municipal official from Monroe County.

(3) A maximum of six (6) members shall be appointed by the Governor of Florida representing each county in the region.

(4) The Governor may appoint ex-officio, non-voting members from the following organizations:

(a) Department of Transportation.

(b) Department of Environmental Protection.

(c) A representative nominated by Enterprise Florida, Inc. and the Office of Tourism, Trade, and Economic Development.

(d) South Florida Water Management District.

(e) Metropolitan Planning Organizations.

(f) Regional Water Supply Authorities.


Three (3) years for members appointed by the Governor. No Council member may serve more than three (3) consecutive terms. Vacancies shall be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term.


Samuel S. Goren, Legal Counsel


Isabel Cosio Carballo, Executive Director
South Florida Regional Council


Monthly, first Monday at 10:30 a.m.
South Florida Regional Council
3440 Hollywood Blvd., Room 140
Hollywood, FL 33021


Financial Disclosure required; County not responsible for notification or reporting.

Updated 07/05/16