17th Judicial Circuit

Broward County’s 17th Judicial Circuit is one of 20 judicial circuits in Florida. County Court handles civil cases under $15,000, traffic cases and misdemeanors. Circuit Court handles felonies, family matters, juvenile cases, probate and mental health and all civil cases over $15,000, or not under the jurisdiction of the County Court. 

There are 58 Circuit Court judges, 33 County Court judges, and 11 General Magistrates, who provide auxiliary judicial functions to relieve the workload of the Civil Division.

This office is not an agency of the Broward County Commission, however the County Commission owns and maintains the facilities it operates in, and funds some operations of the Courts, State Attorney’s Office and Public Defender’s Office.​