share   tweet 311


Broward CountyCourtsCourthouse Task Force
Courthouse Task Force
The Broward County Commission voted to establish​​ a County Courthouse Task Force in December 2009, and charged it with developing a plan to either refurbish the existing courthouse or build a new one. Members were appointed by then-Mayor Stacy Ritter in January 2009. The first meeting was held January 23, 2009. A new courthouse was ultimately built, and opened in 2017.

Members of the original Courthouse Task Force included:

  • Margaret Bates - Broward League of Cities
  • Scott Chitoff - Zumba International, Chief Counsel
  • Greg Durden - Greg Durden, P.A.
  • Howard Finkelstein - Chief Public Defender, 17th Judicial Circuit, Broward County
  • Catherine Keuthan – Public Defender’s Office
  • Jeff Marcus - State Attorney's Office
  • Jeffrey Ostrow - Kopelowitz Ostrow (KO)
  • Eugene Pettis - Haliczer Pettis and Schwamm
  • Tim Ryan - Broward County Commission, Task Force Chair
  • John P. "Jack" Seiler - Law Offices of Seiler, Sautter, Zaden, Rimes & Weihe
  • Peter Weinstein - Chief Judge, 17th Judicial Circuit, Broward County