

Independent Transportation Surtax Oversight Board

February 2, 2023

Ms. Monica Cepero, County Administrator 115 South Andrews Avenue, Ste. 409 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301 [delivered via email: mcepero@broward.org]

Dear County Administrator Cepero:

At the January 27th Independent Transportation Surtax Oversight Board (Oversight Board) meeting, members discussed staggering of terms. The discussion item was placed on the agenda due to the Appointing Authority's January 6th meeting direction; requesting Oversight Board members' input about how best to accomplish staggering of terms. Presently, the Broward County Code of Ordinances, Article V, Section 31 ½ -75(d) states that: "Any Oversight Board member appointed to replace an Oversight Board member who has been removed or has resigned shall serve the balance of the term of such member."

The Oversight Board came to a consensus that rather than having the replacement serve the balance of the term, the replacement should begin a full four-year term upon appointment. This recommendation is intended to mitigate potential loss of institutional knowledge, using regularly occurring attrition to stagger terms.

Please feel free to reach out to discuss.

Sincerely,

Alan Hoopei

Appointing Authority Members Transportation Surtax Oversight Board Members Mr. Kevin Kelleher, Assistant County Administrator

Alan Hooper, Chair Douglas Coolman, Vice Chair Phil Allen Ronald E. Frazier Aleiandro Munoz Erdal Donmez Shea Smith Debbie Madden Gretchen Cassini, Oversight Board Coordinator Angela J. Wallace, Transportation Surtax General Counsel

