Emerald Award
​​​2023 NatureScape Broward Emerald Award​ deadline extended to
January 13, 2023

Questions? Email Rose Bechard Butman 

​What is NatureScape Emerald Award?

The NatureScape Emerald Award recognizes businesses, municipalities, schools, government facilities (excluding Broward County agencies) and homeowners that have created and maintained model Florida-friendly landscapes or completed exceptional projects that demonstrate visible ecological practices (e.g., non-cypress mulch, rain barrels, composter.) 

How It Works

Round One -  Committee evaluates and scores landscapes for the following: overall design, plant selection, curb appeal, tree canopy, wildlife habitat/habitat value and other special features - smart irrigation for example. Highest scores advance to second round.

Round Two - Judges score landscapes and select award winners. Award-winning landscapes typically have mostly local-native vegetation supporting local and migratory wildlife, ecological features such as littoral planting at water's edge, rain gardens.

SPECIAL NOTE: Landscapes that have FLEPPC Category 1 or Category 2 invasive species are not eligible.


  • Homeowner

  • Business
  • Municipality/School/Government

  • Special Achievement

  • Legacy (for Emerald Award winners that have continued to maintain a sustainable landscape and/or have enhanced landscape for five or more years.)

  • Landscape Architects, architectural design firms and landscape designers are encouraged to submit projects that incorporate FYN* Florida-Friendly principles for single family residences, multi-family, new construction, large properties, existing communities. See FYN Florida-Friendly resources and guidance for professionals HERE. In order to quality, your project must be recognized by UF/IFAS FYN program and NWF Garden for Wildlife.  Landscapes that exceed 50% native plant requirement will be awarded extra points by judges.

    *UF/IFAS Florida Yards and Neighborhoods