​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Mission and Membership of the Broward County Planning Council

The Broward County Planning Council is a truly multi-jurisdictional planning agency. The fundamental role of the Council is to promote coordinated, comprehensive, long-range planning throughout Broward County through the joint cooperation and participation of all local governments, public officials and private citizens.

Countywide planning was first established in Broward County with the passage of Chapter 59 - 1154, Laws of Florida, Special Acts of 1959, as amended, which created the Broward County Area Planning Board. With the passage of the Charter of Broward County, Florida on November 5, 1974, the Broward County Planning Council was created and the enabling legislation of the Area Planning Board was repealed and its functions and responsibilities were transferred to, and vested in, the Council.

As stipulated in the Charter of Broward County (PDF), Florida, the membership of the Broward County Planning Council numbers twenty. One member is a Broward County Commissioner selected by a majority vote of the Commission; one member is a Broward County School Board member selected by the School Board membership. In addition, each County Commissioner individually appoints two members from their respective nine County Commission districts, one member in each district being an elected municipal official and one being an elector not holding elected public office.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​